All too easy as Rosegreen win with 20 points to spare

Tipperary Co-Op SuperValue Junior ‘B’ HC

Tipperary Co-Op SuperValue Junior ‘B’ HC

Rosegreen 3-14 Eire Óg 0-3

Rosegreen impressed in this one-sided game when they comprehensively defeated Eire Óg in the Tipperary Co-Op SuperValu junior B hurling championship at Golden on Sunday evening.

Rosegreen were much the stronger team right from the throw-in and this was reflected in the first half when they scored 1-7 and confined Eire Óg to a solitary point by Josh Quinn in the 16th minute.

The first Rosegreen goal came a minute later when Michael Mackey touched home a delivery into the Eire Óg square from Sean Cormack.

Matters didn’t improve for Eire Óg after the interval as Rosegreen added two further goals from the very much on-fire Michael Mackey.

They were full-deserving winners in the end when they had all of 20 points to spare over a disappointing Eire Og . The final scoreline read 3-14 to 0-3.

Rosegreen had good displays from Adrian Gleeson, Joe Breen, Mark Harnett and Mick Mackey, while Dinny Crosse, Sean Breen and Willie O’Neill impressed for Eire Óg.

Scores and teams

Rosegreen: Daniel Hayde, Davy Quirke, Joe Breen, John O’Dwyer, Vinny Downey, Frank Culleton, Adrian Gleeson, Jimmy Kelly, Mark Harnett (0-1), Sean Cormack (0-1), John O’Grady (0-8), Mike Griffin, Cormac Ryan, <ick Mackey (3-2), Tony Kerwick (0-1). Subs: Jamie Heffernan for Adrian Gleeson, Killian Ryan (0-1) for Cormac Ryan, Eoin Howard for John O’Grady, Mike Kelly for Vinny Downey, Nicky Maher for Sean Cormack.

Eire Óg: Donncha Horan, Cathal Coughlan, Garrett O’Brien, John Ryan, Michael Bradshaw, Sean Breen, Jamie O’Dwyer, Richard Doherty, Josh Quinn (0-2), Dinny Crosse (0-1), Willie O’Neill, David Breen, John Burke, Michael Ryan, Raymond Barry. Subs: David Hennessy for Sean Breen, Peter O’Dwyer for Michael Ryan, Evan Heffernan for Raymond Barry, Patrick Ryan for John Burke.

Referee: John Ryan Bob (Cashel King Cormacs)