Search our Archive


Skeheenarinky and Ballylooby draw pulsating final

The South Junior ‘A’ hurling final at Goatenbridge last Sunday had everything one could hope for in a hurling game.

The South Junior ‘A’ hurling final at Goatenbridge last Sunday had everything one could hope for in a hurling game.

The action-packed local derby had great scores, tough encounters, man-to-man challenges, and the large attendance were well entertained. Hopefully the replay will be as good.

The game had a lively opening and after 20 minutes Skeheenarinky led 0-6 to 0-5.

The game’s only goal came in the 23rd minute when Ballylooby’s best player over the hour, Bryan Fitzgerald, set up Brian Beary for a well-taken goal and the lead.

At the short whistle the sides were level at 0-9 to 1-6.

Skeheen started the second half better and added three fine points in the space of five minutes, two from frees by Fionan O’Sullivan who hit 11 points (10 frees) over the course of the game.

The sides were still level on 45 minutes at 0-12 to 1-9 and the outcome was very much still in the melting pot.

As defences tightened scoring opportunites were scarce and most of the late scoring were from frees. Two long range frees, one to each side, in the final minutes, scored by Fionan O’Sullivan and John Whelan saw the final score end at Skeheenarinky 0-15 Ballylooby/Castlegrace 1-12.

Those who played well for Skeheen were Brian Reidy, Kieran O’Donnell, David Hyland, Seamus O’Callaghan, Fionan O’Sullivan, Neill Barrett, Tommy Sweeney and sub Darragh Lyons.

For Ballylooby the likes of Brian Reidy, Kieran O’Donnell, Stephen Morgan, David Fox, Eamon Ryan, Bryan Fitzgerald, Brian Beary and Brian O’Donnell had their moments.

Ballylooby: B. Beary 1-1, E. Ryan 0-3 (0-2F), D. Fox 0-3, J. Whelan 0-3F, B. Fitzgerald and B. O’Donnell 0-1 each.

Skeheenarinky: F. O’Sullivan 0-11 (0-10F), T. Sweeney 0-3, N. Barrett 0-1.

Ballylooby/C: E. Kendrick, B. Reidy, K. O’Donnell, S. Morgan, G. Beary, L. Murphy, C. Flynn, D. Morgan, D. Fox, J. Morgan, E. Ryan, J. Whelan, P. Murphy, B. Fitzgerald, B. Beary. Subs: J. Fennessy, J. Cooney, M. Murphy, B. O’Donnell.

Skeheenarinky: J. Cahill, R. O’Callaghan, B. Breedy, D. Barrett, S. O’Callaghan, E. Kearney, D. Hyland, J. Martin, E. Morrissey, N. Barrett, J. O’Callaghan, T. Sweeney, S. Lynch, P. Fitzgerald, F. O’Sullivan.

Ref: N. Cosgrave (Marlfield).

Replay on Sunday next

The replay of this final goes ahead on Sunday, 8th September at 5.30 pm in Cahir

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.