Search our Archive


Kevin Guiry star as Kilsheelan ease into semi-final

In the Pat Cleere South U21B hurling Kilsheelan-Kilcash beat Moyle Rovers 3-12 to 1-9 in Clonmel to book a semi final spot

In the Pat Cleere South U21B hurling Kilsheelan-Kilcash beat Moyle Rovers 3-12 to 1-9 in Clonmel to book a semi final spot

Moyle Rovers opened the scoring with a Craig Condon goal followed by an Alec Owens point. John Kehoe and Owens traded pointed frees.

Luke Boland pointed from play for Rovers. Alex Harte, from a free, rattled the net for Kilsheelan. Kilsheelan added two pointed frees from John Kehoe. Brian Gleeson and John Kehoe exchanged points. Kilsheelan’s Paul Maher sent a long shot forward to Eoin Kehoe, who crossed to brother John and he sent over the bar. Luke Boland from play and John Kehoe (2) from frees pointed. Kilsheelan had their second goal when Conor Davin Murphy sent a long clearance into the path of Alex Harte who found the alert Paudie O’Donovan who dispatched with aplomb to leave his side ahead by 2-7 to 1-5 at the break. On the restart Kilsheelan maintained their interval cushion when John Kehoe extended his tally. Alex Harte scored his side’s third goal. John Kehoe and Alex Harte increased the advantage. Alex Harte was on the mark from a free and Luke Boland pointed for Rovers. Moyle Rovers were guilty of some faulty shooting but Liam Carey pointed to break the sequence. Rovers were repulsed by a determined Kilsheelan defence, led by Kevin Guiry who gave a man of the match performance. John Kehoe again pointed for Kilsheelan while Tadgh Lonergan was effective in clearing his lines on a number of occasions.

Kilsheelan-Kilcash: Tadgh Lonergan, Aaron Larkin, David Corcoran, Kevin Guiry, Kevin Guiry, Conor Davin Murphy, Johnny Ormonde, Eoin Kehoe, Paul Maher, John Kehoe 0-10, Adrian McGuire, Joe O’Neill, John Smyth, Alex Harte 2-2 and Paudie O’Donovan 1-0. Sub: James Davin Murphy

Moyle Rovers: Thomas Morrissey, Eoin O’Connor, Brian Norris, Aidan Butler, Ml Fox, Lee Dunne, Sean Luttrell, Ross Mulcahy 0-1, Kevin O’Donnell, Christopher Browne, Luke Boland 0-3, Brian Gleeson 0-1, Alec Owens 0-2, Craig Condon 1-0 and Liam Carey 0-1. Subs: Shane Lonergan 0-1, Padraig Keating, Diarmuid Hickey and Patrick Morrissey.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.