Search our Archive


Another successful season draws to a close

The curtain came down on the soccer season 2010-2011 in what was another very successful one for the Tipperary Southern and District League. Despite the season being disrupted by the adverse weather credit must go to Hon Secretary Tom Lewis, who organised the fixtures and made sure the season still finished on time.

The curtain came down on the soccer season 2010-2011 in what was another very successful one for the Tipperary Southern and District League. Despite the season being disrupted by the adverse weather credit must go to Hon Secretary Tom Lewis, who organised the fixtures and made sure the season still finished on time.

International scene

On the international scene the TSDL saw two more players wear the green of Ireland, with Richard Ryan of Clonmel Town joining St. Michael’s Chris Higgins. Both played with established international players from this area - the St. Michael’s duo, record-breaking skipper James Walsh (who made his 64th appearance) and Paul Breen (making his 29th appearance) in an Amateur International against Northern Ireland in Dundalk in March.

While all teams in the TSDL were in action in the various domestic competitions from the end of August 2010, late October saw another national record being achieved. St. Michael’s and Irish Amateur/Junior skipper James Walsh became the most capped non-professional soccer player in the Republic of Ireland, leading the Irish Amateurs to yet another UEFA Regions Cup Finals. The qualifiers, played in Dublin, saw Ireland defeat San Marino 2-0; draw with Italy 0-0 and defeat France 3-0 to finish top. James Walsh will lead Ireland in back-to-back UEFA Regions Cup Finals in Portugal at the end of June. The squad will also include his St. Michael’s team-mates Paul Breen and Chris Higgins.

National competitions

On the national scene there was heartbreak for St. Michael’s for the fourth time in the last decade in the FAI Junior Cup Final, as the Tipp town outfit were beaten by Pike Rovers of Limerick 2-1 in Cork. Teams to reach the last 64 of the FAI Junior Cup were Clonmel Town, Ballingarry Albion (for a second successive season) and debutants St. Nicholas FC of Solohead.

The TSDL Inter-League team reached the semi-final of the FAI Oscar Traynor Trophy but were beaten 1-0 by the Dublin AUL. The TSDL Youths went down 1-0 to Galway Youths in the quarter-final of the FAI Youth Inter-League Cup. St. Michael’s reached the semi-final of the FAI Youth Cup, losing in a penalty shoot-out to Killarney Celtic.

Provincial competitions

On the provincial front there was success, with St. Michael’s crowned Munster Junior Cup champions for a sixth time, defeating holders Carrick United 1-0 in the Final played in Waterford. The other two teams to reach the last 32 (open draw) of the Munster Junior Cup were Clonmel Town and Clonmel Celtic. In the Munster Youth Cup both St. Michael’s and Clonmel Celtic went out at the quarter-final stage. Peake Villa reached the 3rd Round of the Munster Senior Cup

Domestic competitions

A new competition was organised between the Tipperary Southern and District League and the North Tipperary and District League - the John Delaney Cup, named in honour of the current FAI CEO. This trophy saw the top four teams from the TSDL - Peake Villa, Clonmel Celtic, St. Michael’s and Clonmel Town - taking on the top four from the NTDL - Nenagh FC, Nenagh Celtic, Blackcastle Utd and Cloughjordan FC, in late July. The final, played on the 8th August at Newhill Park, Littleton saw St. Michael’s. with an empathic 6-2 victory over Nenagh FC, become the inaugural winners.

The status quo was restored in the Premier League in 2010/’11 in the TSDL with the big two, Clonmel Town and St. Michael’s occupying the top two places, with Town winning a 16th TSDL crown by pipping Saints. Wilderness Rovers consolidated their place in the top flight at the first time of asking, finishing a creditable fourth.

The Tipperary Challenge Cup Final saw St. Michael’s defeat a Clonmel Celtic side chasing a third consecutive title on a 1-0 scoreline in Cashel.

League Division 1 saw Two Mile Borris lifting the title, with St. Nicholas taking the runners-up spot. Two Mile Borris made it a double by defeating St. Nicholas in a penalty shoot-out in the Shield Final in Cooke Park, Tipp Town.

Clonmel Town B took the title in League Division 2, with Glengoole United making history by claiming the runners-up spot after defeating Killenaule Rovers in a play-off. Cashel Town B also made history, defeating Clonmel Celtic B 1-0 in the Shield Final at Newhill Park, Littleton.

In League Division 3 Cahir Park B won the title at the first time of asking, with Cullen-Lattin taking the runners-up spot. The big losers were FC Dundrum, who fielded a suspended player on two occasions that resulted in them being deducted 4 points. The Shield Final saw Vee Rovers defeat Redmondstown in Cahir Park.

Two of the newer clubs made history in League Division 4, with Ballypatrick FC becoming champions and newcomers Tipperary Town the runners-up. The Shield Final saw Dualla defeat Donohill-Doon Celtic at Danny O’Dwyer Park, Bohertrine.

A new name was etched on the Paddy Purtill Cup, as Glengoole United defeated holders Moyglass United 4-1 at Newhill Park, Littleton. Likewise there was a new name also on the Peter O’Reilly Cup, with Tipperary Town defeating Ballypatrick FC 3-2 at Celtic Park, Clonmel.

In the Youths competitions St. Michael’s won the TSDL Youth Championship for a third successive season. There was a treble for Clonmel Celtic, who not only won the Youth Division 2 crown but were successful in both the Tipperary Youth Cup, defeating Cahir Park 1-0 in Cashel, and the Division 2 Youth Cup, defeating Cashel Town 7-0 in Cahir. The only other competition still to be finalised is the Joe Delaney Youth Cup between Nenagh AFC and Clonmel Town and the final is fixed for Rearcross on Sunday, 12 June at 3pm.

Thanks to one and all

On behalf of the Tipperary Southern and District League, PRO John Butler thanks The Nationalist for their extensive coverage throughout the season. This wouldn’t have happened without the co-operation of all the clubs that submitted match details each week. Thanks are also extended to the League’s main sponsors - Clonmel Credit Union; the Shamrock Lounge, Castle Street, Cahir; Kelly Travel, Pallasgreen and John Quirke Jewellers, Cahir.

Annual general

meeting on June 15

The annual general meeting of the Tipperary Southern and District League will be held on Wednesday, June 15th in Cooke Park, Tipp town at 8pm sharp.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.