Search our Archive


Sub sub Mark O’Brien hits winning goal for Galtee Rovers

A late goal gave Galtee Rovers a 1-10 to 0-10 win over Kilsheelan Kilcash in the County SFC at New Inn on Saturday.

A late goal gave Galtee Rovers a 1-10 to 0-10 win over Kilsheelan Kilcash in the County SFC at New Inn on Saturday.

Points from two Michael McHugh frees and Pakie Larkin put Kilsheelan three ahead. Denis Peters pointed a free to open Galtees’ account but back came the South side with points from Conor Davin Murphy and Tommy Ryan, Kilsheelan had a lot of possession and a Tommy Ryan effort was deflected out for a ’45 which McHugh converted. Adrian Walsh and McHugh both pointed from play to stretch the South side’s advantage to seven points.

Rovers were missing chances but following a foul on Peters, Shane Egan pointed the free. Rovers made some astute positional changes to good effect. Paul McCarthy passedd to Stephen Mc Grath who sent over. Colin Morrissey began to exert his influence as he sent a nice ball to Denis Peters who pointed. Colin Morrissey had the last score of the half to leave his side trailing at the break by 0-8 to 0-6.

Paul Maher and Michael McHugh from a free extended the Kilsheelan lead but Shane Egan replied from a free. Paul McCarthy lofted over a point and Pa Morrissey combined well with Denis Peters who left the minimum between the sides. Kilsheelan defended well from strong Galtees pressure before Denis Peters levelled matters from an acute angle. Galtees maintained the pressure but strong defence kept them out until Rovers substitute Mark O’Brien hitting the winning goal following good work from Andrew Morrissey and Tony O’Brien.

Galtee Rovers: Eamon O’Connell, Conor O’Sullivan, Vinny Murphy, Emmet Ryan, Damien Burke, Colin Morrissey 0-1, Robert Doyle, Pa Morrissey, Stephen McGrath 0-2, Tony O’Brien, Denis Peters 0-4, Andrew Morrissey, Darren Mc Grath, Paul McCarthy 0-1 and Shane Egan 0-2.

Subs: Colin Hayes and Mark O’Brien 1-0.

Kilsheelan-K: John Smyth, David Corcoran, Willie Ryan, Shane Prendergast, Bill Maher, Adrian McGuire, James Geraghty, Tommy Ryan, Eoin Ryan, Ml McHugh 0-4, Conor Davin Murphy 0-1, Pakie Larkin 0-1, Paul Maher 0-2, Adrian Walsh 0-1, Jimmy Ryan 0-1. Subs: Ross Larkin, Paul Denn.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.