Search our Archive


Seamus Callanan fires Tipp hurlers to victory

Seamus Callanan scored 1-4 when Tipperary beat Waterford in the National Hurling League at Semple Stadium on Saturday evening.
Tipperary 2-13 Waterford 0-16

Tipperary 2-13 Waterford 0-16

Tipperary made a winning start to the National Hurling League when they beat Waterford by a goal in Saturday evening’s Division 1A encounter at Semple Stadium.

Tipp started sluggishly against a Waterford team inspired by full back Shane Fives and midfielder Kevin Moran. With freetaker Pauric Mahony also in fine form, Waterford led at half-time by 0-8 to 0-5.

Further points from Maurice Shanahan and Jake Dillon stretched Waterford’s lead to 0-10 to 0-5 5 minutes into the second half and Tipp looked in trouble.

However they drew level with a well-taken goal by Seamus Callanan 11 minutes into the second half.

Tipp suddenly found form with top scorer Seamus Callanan (who scored 1-4), Noel McGrath, Brendan Maher, Michael Cahill and Padraic Maher leading the fightback.

Tipp were ahead by a point when a free from goalkeeper Darren Gleeson from his own ‘45 in the final minute slipped through the grasp of Waterford ‘keeper Stephen O’Keeffe and over the line for their second goal.

Waterford responded with an injury time point from Pauric Mahony’s free but Tipp held on.

Tipperary -Darren Gleeson (1-0 free), Cathal Barrett, Conor O’Mahony, Michael Cahill, Shane McGrath, Padraic Maher, Conor O’Brien, Brendan Maher (captain), James Woodlock (0-1), Seamus Callanan (1-4, including 0-2 frees), Noel McGrath (0-2), Kieran Bergin (0-1), Jason Forde, Paddy Murphy and John O’Dwyer (0-4 frees).

Substitutes - Liam McGrath for Jason Forde (42 minutes), Denis Maher (0-1) for John O’Dwyer (48 minutes), Shane Bourke for Paddy Murphy (56 minutes) and Ronan Maher for James Woodlock (59 minutes).

Waterford - Stephen O’Keeffe, Noel Connors, Shane Fives, Barry Coughlan, Jamie Nagle, Michael Walsh (captain), Philip Mahony (0-2), Kevin Moran (0-1), Shane O’Sullivan, Jamie Barron, Pauric Mahony (0-10 including 9 frees), Jake Dillon (0-1), Maurice Shanahan (0-1), Shane Walsh and Brian O’Sullivan (0-1).

Substitutes - Stephen Molumphy for Shane Walsh (47 minutes), Seamus Prendergast for Jamie Barron (58 minutes), Eddie Barrett for Maurice Shanahan (66 minutes) and Stephen Roche for Seamus Prendergast (76 minutes).

Referee - Colm Lyons (Cork).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.