Search our Archive


Tipp show three changes for Galway

Having missed the Munster championship game against Limerick, Drom & Inch's James Woodlock returns at midfield for Tipperary against Galway on Saturday night.
The Tipperary team to play Galway in Saturday night’s Senior Hurling Championship Qualifier has been announced.

The Tipperary team to play Galway in Saturday night’s Senior Hurling Championship Qualifier has been announced.

It shows three changes from the side which lost the Munster semi-final to Limerick in Thurles five weeks ago.

There is a completely new centre field pairing of Ronan Maher and James Woodlock, while 2010 Hurler fo the Year Lar Corbett is named at corner-forward.

Missing out from the team which started against Limerick are Kieran Bergin, Shane McGrath and Niall O’Meara.

Having performed poorly in the early stages of the National Hurling League, Tipperary recovered well with late wins against Dublin and Clare before losing by the minimum in a magnificent final to Kilkenny in Thurles by 2-25 to 1-17.

But for the second year in-a-row Tipperary lost their opening championship game to Limerick and have now lost their last four senior hurling championship games. For Eamonn O’Shea’s side this is a hugely important fixture and the Kilruane MacDonaghs clubman will be hoping to at last secure a championship win for Tipp at his fourth attempt.

Galway come to the Stadium with two big games under their belts against Kilkenny and will be more up to speed with competitive hurling than the home side.

By late Saturday evening it will be the end of the hurling road for one of these sides for 2014. Hopefully home advantage will see Tipperary through.

Team: Darren Gleeson (Portroe), Cathal Barrett (Holycross/Ballycahill), Paudie Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), James Barry (Upperchurch/Drombane), Conor O’Mahony (Newport), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), James Woodlock (Drom & Inch), Gearóid Ryan (Templederry), Patrick Maher (Lorrha/Dorrha), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Noel McGrath (Loughmore/Castleiney), Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.