Search our Archive


Daragh Kennedy’s accuracy helps Treacy’s to the win

Tipperary Co-Op Super Valu Junior B Hurling Championship

Tipperary Co-Op Super Valu Junior B Hurling Championship

Sean Treacys 0-15

Cappawhite 0-11

Sean Treacy’s won this round of the Tipperary Co-Op Super Valu junior B hurling championship against Cappawhite at Annacarty as a result of a stronger finish on Sunday afternoon.

The game was evenly poised at half-time with the sides 0-5 each. Cappawhite had the better start and led by 0-5 to 0-2 after 12 minutes but Sean Treacy’s improved in the second quarter to draw level by the interval.

The sides remained level for 20 minutes after the restart when the score stood at 0-9 each, but then Sean Treacy’s went ahead with six unanswered points.

Cappawhite desperately needed a goal to get back into the game but it never came. They did get two consolation points towards the conclusion of the contest to leave the score 0-15 to 0-11 in favour of Sean Treacys.

Sean Treacys; Emmet Ryan, William Mackey, Seamus Costello, Mark Hogan, Ger Egan (0-1), Paudie Carey, Greg Kennedy, Liam Nolan (0-1), Damien Nolan, Shane Fahey (0-1), T. J. Quigley (0-1), Daragh Kennedy (0-7), Joe Carey (0-4), Kevin Ryan, Tom Ryan.

Sub: William Ryan for Kevin Ryan

Cappawhite: Michael Buckley, Davy Stapleton, Pat O’Neill, Paddy Barry, Martin O’Connor, Dean O’Dwyer, Michael Ryan (W), John English, Paddy Julian, Evan O’Meara, FergalRyan, James Kirby, Daragh Clancy, Brendan Buchley, James O’Dwyer. Subs: Sean Tyan for Brendan Buckley, Robbie Fitzgerald for Evan O’Meara.

Referee: Richard O’Connor (Arravale Rovers)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.