Search our Archive


Proud Powerstown’s brave effort falls just short

Under 11 C Hurling

Under 11 C Hurling

Scoil Eoin Naofa 2-5 Powerstown 1-4

Referee: Christy McLoughlin

Scoil Eoin Naofa Roscrea took on Powerstown in the Under 11 C Hurling final. Powerstown came to Semple Stadium proudly representing South Tipperary for the third year in-a-row. Scoil Eoin Naofa scored first half goals from Darragh Tynan and Fionn Ryan. Owen Tynan scored three first half points for Scoil Eoin Naofa, two from 65s and one was a free from a tight angle. Powerstown goalkeeper David Burke was outstanding throughout, making crucial saves and excellent deliveries. Powerstown had brilliant performances from Brian Quirke and TJ Quigley. TJ scored a wonderful first half goal with a rocket of a shot to the top corner of the net. Conor McGrath, Powerstown, pointed from a very tight angle to leave the score at half time Scoil Eoin Naofa 2-3 Powerstown 1-1.

In the second half Fionn Ryan scored a magnificent point for Scoil Eoin Naofa. Powerstown responded with points from Brian Lacey and Brian Quirke. Congratulations to Scoil Eoin Naofa, and well done to Powerstown for contributing so much to a wonderful contest.

Powerstown - David Burke, Jack Holohan, Kieran Quirke, T.J. Quigley, Conor McGrath, Brian Quirke, Brian Lacey, Seamus O’ Brien, Thomas Hickey, Anthony Phelan.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.