Search our Archive


Cashel Community School denied in tense Munster final

Cashel Community School’s bid for a third Munster Colleges senior hurling B title came up just short at Templemore on Saturday as Colaiste Phobal, Roscrea, snatched victory in a thrilling finish, 1-12 to 1-10.

Cashel Community School’s bid for a third Munster Colleges senior hurling B title came up just short at Templemore on Saturday as Colaiste Phobal, Roscrea, snatched victory in a thrilling finish, 1-12 to 1-10.

After a ding-dong battle, the sides were level with a minute of actual time left, but in a dramatic climax, Roscrea’s Jordan Fogarty put his side in front with a sweet point, and in injury time doubled the advantage from a placed ball.

Though there was little between the Tipperary rivals, Roscrea just about deserved to shade the verdict, and can point to two fluffed goal chances in the first half to bolster their case.

That said, Cashel had their chances also, but overall, Roscrea looked the better side.

Cashel had the favour of the slightly cross-field breeze in the first half and looked to be heading for victory as they ran up a 0-7 to 0-2 lead after twenty minutes.

Roscrea were lively and competing for everything, but Cashel looked slick, as Seanie O Halloran (2) and Brendan Ryan (3) did most of their scoring.

Roscrea’s goal threat was evident though. Aaron Kirwan was foiled with a kicked effort in the 16th minute, and Jordan Fogarty was denied a likely goal in the 20th minute.

And it was Roscrea who produced the stronger finish to the half, Sean Fogarty and Jordan Fogarty (2) landing points to bring them within two points of their rivals, 0-5 to 0-7 at the break.

Killian Loughman had a great chance for Cashel at the start of the second half but a recovering Roscrea defence snuffed out the threat.

Cashel had county minor Josh Keane now operating at midfield, as Jordan Fogarty (R) and Brendan Ryan (C) swapped points in the six minutes after resuming.

Then Roscrea hit a purple patch as Jamie Dooley, Shane Sampson, goalie Enda Moloney (from a free) and Jordan Fogarty from a free, had points to move them two points clear by the end of the third quarter.

The ball was in their court, but Cashel bounced back.

Josh Keane had the ball in the Roscrea net in the 21st minute after Killian Loughman created the chance, but he was fouled and awarded a penalty.

Justice was done however as Keane belted the penalty to the net to put Cashel ahead by a point.

James Doyle whipped over a Cashel point almost immediately to put a very different complexion on the game.

Now Cashel looked likely winners but Roscrea, helped by a double substitution, hit back as sub Cian Rigney, with almost his first touch of the ball, netted for them in the 57th minute to put them a point clear.

Josh Keane again levelled for Cashel, but in the final minute, Jordan Fogarty nudged Roscrea ahead again, and in injury time pointed a free that secured their title.

Thrilling stuff, and Roscrea’s delight at their victory was very evident at the finish as their supporters piled onto the field to salute their heroes.

Jordan Fogarty was their most influential player but Cian Rigney’s goal earned him hero status also. They had big games too from Ian Treacy, Daniel Doughan, Anthony Devereaux, Ciaran Cleary, Sean Fogaty and Jamie Dooley.

It was hard luck on Cashel who contributed so much to an excellent game. They were chasing their third title at this level and first since 2011. Their key players were Cormac Ryan, Josh Keane, James Casey, Brendan Ryan and Seanie O’Halloran.

Colaiste Phobal Roscrea - E Moloney (Roscrea) 0-1; I Treacy (do), D Cleary (Shinrone), B Davis (R); J P Cleary (S), D Doughan (S), L Cashin (R); S Fogarty (Moneygall) 0-1, A Devereaux (do); C Cleary (S) 0-1, S Sampson (S) 0-1, J Dooley (Borris-in-Ossory) 0-1; E Fitzpatrick (R) 0-1; A Kirwan (S), J Fogarty (S) 0-6, 5fs); Subs- A Cleary (S) for Fitzpatrick; S Fletcher (R) for Kirwan; C Rigney (R) 1-0, for Dooley;

Cashel Community School - J Walsh (Cashel); C Ryan(do), J Cummins (do), D Wade (Golden); R O’Donnell (Cahir), J Keane (Golden) 1-2, 1-1fs, F Hogan (Knockavilla Kickhams); M Ryan (Clonoulty), J Casey (Golden); W O’Carroll (K) 0-1, B Ryan (do) 0-4,3fs, J Doyle (Killenaule),0-1; K Maher (Boherlahan), K Loughman (K), S O’Halloran (G) 0-2; Subs- P O’Carroll (K) for Hogan; C Devitt (C) for O’Donnell.

Ref- D Copps, Cork.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.