Search our Archive


West Tipp GAA Reports - Wins for Emly, Aherlow and Solohead

Gleeson Concrete Junior A Hurling Championship

Gleeson Concrete Junior A Hurling Championship

Emly 1-17 Kickhams 2-13

Emly had to hold out against a great Kickhams second-half rally to win by a point in the West junior A hurling championship at Golden on Friday evening.

It was all Emly for most of the first half. Tommy Comerford had a point for Kickhams in the fourth minute but his side failed to score again until the 28th minute and they had three points in the trot for an interval total of four points. In contrast Emly had scored 1-13, the goal coming from Michael O’Donnell in the 20th minute following a perfect pass from Eoin Buckley.

The second-half was a totally different affair. Kickhams began to hurl and to do all the things that Emly had done so easily in the first half but were now uncertain and jittery. By the end of the third quarter they had scored 1-6, the goal scored by Brendan Ryan in the third minute, and the Emly lead was reduced to three points, 1-13 to 1-10.

Emly got their first score in the 16th minute and could add only two more in the 27th and 28th minutes. However, they did stem the tide of Kickhams resurgence and confined them to three points until the 30th minute. Then Kickhams got a free about forty metres from their own goal and Stephen Griffey lobbed a ball into the Emly square, where it was touched home by Brendan Farrell to bring the sides level.

In the two minutes added time remaining mighty efforts were made by both sides to get the winning score and it came from a free by Pat Buckley in the dying seconds to give Emly victory by 1-17 to 2-13.

Emly: Decky McEniry, Sean Hennessy, Ciarán McAuley, Christopher Hennessy, Adrian Hennessy, Pat Buckley (0-5), Jason McCarthy (0-1), Donal Condon, David Byrnes (0-1), Bob McEniry (0-4), Eoin Buckley, Shane Carroll (0-1), Jim Ryan, Adrian Dawson (0-5), Michael O’Donnell (1-0). Subs: Tom Dawson for Michael O’Donnell, Patrick McGrath for Jim Ryan.

Kickhams: Thomas Ryan, John O’Brien, Stephen Griffey (0-1),Davy Shanahan, Rory O’Dwyer, Killian Loughman, Paudie Morrissey, Tommy Comerford (0-2), Oisín Slattery, Dan Breen (0-2), Ger Farrell (0-1), Brendan Farrell (1-1), Brendan Ryan (1-1), Kevin Farrell (0-3), Conor Horan (0-2). Sub: Oisín Slattery for Tommy Comerford.

Referee: David Grogan (Aherlow)

West Junior A Football Championhship

Aherlow Gaels 3-6

Rosegreen 1-8

Aherlow Gaels defeated Rosegreen by 3-6 to 1-8 in the junior A football championship at Golden on Wednesday last.

The difference between the sides were two penalties awarded to Aherlow Gaels, one in each half. They were converted by Joey Fahy and Alan Hayes respectively.

The winners led by 2-4 to 0-5 at the interval and were in front by 3-6 to 1-8 at the final whistle. Rosegreen got their goal, scored by Killian Ryan, in the second half.

Aherlow Gaels: Shane Leonard, Pat Power, John Moloney, Jason O’Brien, Stephen Moloney, Ed O’Meara, Liam Cunningham, James Riordan, Michael Kenny (1-1) Alan Hayes (1-1), Joss O’Brien (0-1), Frankie Leonard, Joey Fahy (1-0), Roger Kiely (0-1), Tommy Frewen (0-3). Subs: John Kiely for James Riordan, Gearóid Ryan for Shane Leonard, Darren Neville (0-1) for Roger Kiely, Jamie Franks for Pat Power, Timmy Leonard for Joey Fahy.

Rosegreen: Keith Phelan, Mike Kelly, Denis Golden , Cormac Ryan, Joe Breen, Frank Culleton, Adrian Gleeson, Killian Ryan (1-0), Vinny Downey, Sean Cormack (0-3), Mark Harnett (0-1), Tony Kerwick, Trevor Downey (0-2), Mike Griffin (0-2), Eoin McGrath. Subs: Michael Golden for Eoin McGrath, Ger O’Connor for Tony Kerwick, David Hayde for Cormac Ryan.

Referee: Michael Duffy (Arravale Rovers).

West Junior A Football Championship

Solohead 8-10

Galtee Rovers 1-5

Solohead had a runaway victory over Galtee Rovers in the junior A football championship at Lattin on Wednesday evening.

This was Solohead’s number 1 team and they were much too strong for Galtee’s second string. They had 2-4 on the boards before Eddie Grace opened the Galtee account

The winners led by 3-6 to 0-4 at the interval and just piled on the scores in the second half to win by 8-10 to 1-5.

Solohead: Christopher Ryan, Liam Conway, David Ryan, Jerry Dee, Michael O’Connor (0-1), Philip Doherty, Noel Kennedy, Jamie Ryan (0-1), Colm Riordan, Eoin Riordan (1-2), Aidan Riordan (2-1), John Joe O’Brien (0-1), Alan Riordan (1-1), Mark Lowry (1-1), Declan Riordan (0-1). Subs: Pat Connolly (0-1) for Aidan Riordan, Paul Ryan (3-0) for Declan Riordan, Perry Power for Eoin Riordan, Joseph Riordan for Liam Conway, Christopher Hadnett for Michael O’Connor.

Galtee Rovers: Cathal Moloney; Ian O’Brien, Seamus Moloney, Willie Tarrant; Brendan McGrath, Colin Hayes, Peter Carroll; Chris Doyle, Kevin Power; Sean Daly (1-1), Bernard Fitzgerald (0-2), Christopher O’Halloran (0-1); Maurice Crowe, Darren Shiels, Eddie Grace (0-1); Subs; Brendan Healy, Larry O’Brien.

Referee: David Grogan (Aherlow)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.