Search our Archive

County Athletic News

County titles for Brian Muirphy and Dympna Ryan

County titles for Brian Muirphy and Dympna Ryan

The early pace was set by a group of three David Ryan of Clonmel, Danny Smith of Ballynonty and eventual winner Brian Murphy of Carrick on Suir. These three athletes were still together as they approached Littleton but as they left the village of Littleton, Brian Murphy picked up the tempo and soon drew clear with Danny giving chase. Brian kept that pace going to come home a very worthy and convincing Champion in 53 mins 54 secs, great to see Brian back competing strong again. Danny Smith also ran well when winning the Silver medal in 55 mins 58 secs. The Bronze medal was won by David Ryan of Clonmel in 57 mins 2 secs. For the record 4th Denis Shanahan (Thurles Crokes) 57:39, 5th David Mansfield (Clonmel) 58:19, 6th Fintan Rice (Fethard) 58:40, 7th Patrick Hughes (Thurles Crokes) 58:55, 8th John Russell (Coolquill) 59:23, 9th Mike Cunningham (Moore Abbey Milers) 59:36 and 10th Paudie O Keeffe (Clonmel) 59:41.

In the Ladies race Dympna Ryan od Dundrum came home a very worthy Champion when finishing in 64 mins 10 secs. MADELINE Loughnane of Thurles Crokes won the Silver medal in 66 mins 15 secs with Marie Fitzgibbon of Thurles Crokes won the Bronze medal in 69 mins 36 secs.

Full story in this week’s Tipperary Star.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.