Search our Archive


Our Lady’s Shade A Battle With Charleville

Dr Harty Cup

Dr Harty Cup

Our Lady’s Templemore 1-13

Charleville CBS 0-14

Our Lady’s, the bettter side, just about shaded this game against Charleville CBS, played in ideal conditions in Tipperary Town on Wednesday lasy. Before ghe game a minutes silence was observed in memory of James Fitzgerald, a Charleville player who passed away recently.

Pa O Callaghan was on target for the CBS from the throw in but Templemore replied with a John McGrath free.

Then Darren Casey and J. J. Ryan swopped points. Pa O’Callaghan and Conor Twomey then pointed Charleville into a two point lead. However John McGrath set up Colkin Riordan for a fine point, and Dean McEnroe had a brace to leave Our Lady’s ahead 0-5 to 0-4 at the end of the first quartewr.

So it was nip and tuck for the first twenty minutes, with nothing between the sides, at this stage they were all square, 0-5 apiece following a Conor Twomey sixty five metre free.

Then Our Lady’s forged ahead with points from Tommy Nolan, John McGrath and Dean McEnroe. Then John McGrath did all the hard work and set up substitute Jamie Bergin for a peach of a goal, to give the Templemore boys a 1-8 to 0-5 lead, but Charleville replied with a Pa O’Callaghan point before half time.

After the break Dylan Carey pointed to increase the lead for Our Lady’s. At this stage things looked ominous for Charleville, but they fought back.

They struck a purple patch and were well on top for the third quarter.

They fired over six unanswered points, from Johnny McCarthy, Conor Twomey (two frees), Pa O’Callaghan (two) and Eugene O’Leary to level the scores 1-9 to 0-12 with ten minutes remaining. Charleville spurned good scoring chances to go ahead, before Dylan Carey broke the deadlock with a point followed by another from Michael Campion to give Our Lady’s a two point lead. Charkleville fought back and Conor Laffan cut the lead to one, but two John McGrath frees put Our Ladys ahead by three with time running out.

Conor Twomey pointed and set up Pa O’Callaghan for another score, but his goal shot came off the post and the Templemore boys were relieved to hear the final whistle.

Ouir Ladys had a fine defense ably marshalled bby Jason Ryan, James Bergin and Joseph Nyland. John McGrath, Colin Riordan, Dean McEnroe and Tommy Nolan also did well. For

Charleville Paddy O’Loughlin, Darra Cotter and Conot Twomey were excellent.

Up front apart from Pa O’Callaghhan and Conor Laffan the rest off the forwards struggled.

Our Lady’s Templemore: Sean P Guerins; Denis Brearton, Jason Ryan, James Bergin; Padraig Hogan, Joseph Nyland, Brian Kennedy; Emmett Moloney, John McGrath (0-4f) ; Dylan Carey (0-2), Colin Riordan (0-1), Tommy Maher; Dean McEnroe (0-3), Tommy Nolan (0-1), John Joe Ryan (0-1). Subs:Jamie Bergin (1-0) for Emmett Moloney, Michael Campion (0-1) for J. J. Ryan.

Charleville CBS: Mikie Browne; Paddy O’Loughlin, Darragh Cotter, Killian O’Gorman; Darren Butler, Conor Twomey (0-5)(0-4f), Luke Hanley; Jack Buckley, Johnny Mc Carthy (0-1); Jack Barry, Darragh Browne, Darren Casey (0-1); Eugene O’Leary (0-1), Pa O’Callaghan (0-5)(0-1f), Conor Laffan (0-1). Subs: Kyle McCarthy forJack Barry.

Referee; P. Coffey Limerick.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.