Search our Archive


Loughmore’s year honoured in Awards

Loughmore/Castleiney have been rewarded for an exceptional year in hurling and Gaelic football.

Loughmore/Castleiney have been rewarded for an exceptional year in hurling and Gaelic football.

The club has won three Annerville Awards after a year in which they completed a historic county senior hurling and football championship double.

Noel McGrath has won the hurling award, while the football accolade goes to his first cousin Liam McGrath.

Meanwhile the Sean Lyons Sports Executive Award has been won by the Loughmore hurling and football management team of Declan Laffan, Pat McGrath and Seamus Bohan.

And Loughmore has won another award, with Leaving Cert student Edel Nyland honoured for her achievements in hockey.

The awards, sponsored by Bulmers, are presented each year by the Tipperary United Sports Panel to the leading amateur sports stars in Tipperary.

The Sports Panel has selected stars in 17 sports, including the Special Achievement Award, Lifetime Achievement Award and the Knocknagow Award, which each year is presented to a Sportsperson of the Past in the Clonmel Park Hotel on Saturday January 25th.

The choice this year is Tony Wall of Thurles Sarsfields, who won five All-Ireland Senior hurling medals and was captain of Tipperary’s All-Ireland winning team in 1958.

The Lifetime Achievement Award goes to Chris Regan, who has been coaching schoolboy soccer players with Clonmel Town since the mid 1970s.

Clonmel teenager Andrew Duncan, who has won the Special Achievement Award, was one of Ireland’s most successful athletes at the World Transplant Games in South Africa.

The Rockwell College student won gold in tennis and squash, silver in badminton and bronze in table tennis.

St. Michael’s has won the soccer award after three of its players - James Walsh, Paul Breen and Christopher Higgins - played on the Irish junior team that won the international quadrangular tournament, beating Scotland, the Isle of Man and Northern Ireland.Outstanding Clonmel athlete Sean Tobin has also been honoured as have Tom McMahon and Dan Quinlan, who won gold medals in shooting at the World Police and Fire Games in Belfast.

Other winners include and Aisling Hickey from Rossmore, the current Women’s European Singles racquetball champion.

See across for full list of winners.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.