Search our Archive


Tipperary GAA Scene





Congratulations to Thurles Sarsfields on winning their 32nd county senior hurling final by defeating a gallant Drom and Inch team by 1-21 to 2-15 on Sunday at Semple Stadium.

It was a highly entertaining game and great credit is due to both sides for the sporting manner in which it was played.

Credit and thanks are also due to referee Fergal Horgan, who did an excellent job in charge of his first county senior hurling final, his linesmen, Philip Kelly and John O’Brien and his team of umpires.

Thurles Sarsfields captain, Padraic Maher, received the Dan Breen Cup from County Chairman Sean Nugent and Aidan McCormack of Sarsfields was a deserved winner of the Man of the Match Award, sponsored by John Quirke Jewellers of Cahir, having scored 1-6 from play.

Sarsfields now have a tough challenge ahead in the AIB Munster club hurling championship when they take on Limerick champions, Kilmallock in Kilmallock on Sunday October 28.

We wish them every success in their preparations for this important game. Having own their 4th title in 8 years, Sarsfields have the potential to do very well in the club championship. Loughmore Castleiney were the last Tipperary team to win the Munster club title in 2007.

Well done also to Ger Corbett and his team for another well produced county final programme; County CCC Chairman, Michael Bourke, Secretary, Tom Maher, and their committee for the well planned “Clar an Lae” and all the stewards and others who helped make Sunday such an enjoyable day for all followers of hurling in Tipperary.



Congratulations to Silvermines on their 2-21 to 0-10 victory over Ballina to win the county Intermediate hurling final at Semple Stadium on Sunday last.

It is Silvermines’s second title at this grade, having previously won the title in 1999. Their captain, Cathal Gleeson received the Jacksie Ryan Cup from County Vice-Chairman, Michael Bourke and 19 year old Jason Forde was a deserving winner of the John Quirke Jewellers sponsored Man of the Match Award.


The Cappawhite panel and officials which won the County senior hurling championship in 1987 were the jubilee team guests at Sunday’s county finals in Semple Stadium.

A reception for the team was held in the Dome before the games, the players were introduced to the attendance between the Intermediate and Senior finals and a function was held afterwards in Dundrum House Hotel.

Thanks are due to the Tipperary Star, Dundrum House Hotel, Seamus J King, John Costigan, Pat Carey, Cappawhite GAA club, Lenny Fitzgerald for preparing the player citations and all who helped make this such a memorable occasion for the Cappawhite team which won the club’s only county senior hurling title with a 1-17 to 2-13 victory over Loughmore Castleiney in 1987.



The county senior football championship is reaching the closing stages with the two quarter-finals down for decision on Saturday next, October 20.

Defending champions, Thomas MacDonaghs will take on newly crowned and first time West champions Éire Óg Annacarty in The Ragg at 4pm and Clonmel Commercials will play Arravale Rovers in Cahir also at 4pm.

South champions Killenaule and Mid champions, Loughmore Castleiney qualified for the semi-finals by virtue of winning their divisional titles and last county championship ties.

The semi-finals will be played on the weekend of October 28 with the final on Sunday, November 4.


The 2013 Tipperary GAA Yearbook is being compiled at present and the Yearbook committee is seeking articles and information for inclusion.

Clubs that have accomplished any unique achievement in 2012 such as winning a major title for the first time, achieving a double, opening new dressing rooms or a new grounds, etc are requested to send through an appropriate article for inclusion.

The Yearbook committee are looking to all clubs to submit any obituaries of their deceased members in the last 12 months.

The maximum number of words for an obituary is 150 and please include the club name and the years also, e.g. 1935-2012, as well as his/her GAA achievements and a photograph of the deceased person.

The deadline for sending information is November 1. Please e-mail information and photographs (which must be named) to John Smith, Secretary Tipperary Yearbook Committee at

Photographs can also be posted to John Smith c/o Tipperary GAA Office, Slievenamon Road, Thurles. Please note information must be submitted as outlined above and all articles, photographs etc will be acknowledged.

If an acknowledgement is not received please contact the Yearbook Secretary at 087-9960710.


A book written by Roscrea native and Kilkenny resident, Jim Fogarty, entitled “The Dan Breen Cup - Tipperary County SH Finals 1931-2011” will be launched in the Horse and Jockey Hotel on Friday, October 19 at 8pm by Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh.

This book is sure to be an entertaining read and has been written by fanatical hurling fan, Jim Fogarty, who for many years was county librarian in Kilkenny. Now retired, Jim has turned his hand to writing and his eagerly awaited book will tell the story of Tipperary county senior hurling finals since 1931.

All are welcome to what should be a great night on the 19th and congratulations to Jim on all the research and preparation that has gone into this work.



Tipperary defeated Waterford by 2-13 to 1-8 in their first match in the Munster Under 17 Football competition played at Dr. Morris Park Thurles on Monday night.

Tipperary played with the aid of the wind in the first half and dominated possession to lead by 2-11 to 0-1 at half-time despite hitting 10 wides.

Waterford’s play improved in the second half as both sides rang the changes and though Tipperary only managed two second half points, they still ran out eight point winners.

Tipperary’s next matches in this competition are against Limerick on Monday next at 7:30pm in Mick Neville Park Rathkeale and on Friday week October 26th v Clare at 7:30pm in Dr. Morris Park.

The Tipperary starting line-up v Waterford was as follows – Jack McDonald (Clonmel Commercials); Shane O’Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle), James Bergin (JK Brackens), Timmy Dunne (Gortnahoe-Glengoole); Michael Meagher (Grangemockler-Ballyneale), James Feehan (Killenaule), Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers); Jerry Cronin (Arravale Rovers), Colin O’Riordan (JK Brackens); David Hayes (Fethard), Paul Shanahan (Upperchurch-Drombane), John Joe Ryan (Clonakenny); Dominic Walsh (Moyle Rovers), Mark Russell (Lattin-Cullen), William Carroll (Ballina).


Congratulations to Burgess Duharra on their 1 point victory by 0-9 to 1-5 over defending champions Drom and Inch in the county senior camogie final played at the Camogie Grounds, The Ragg on Saturday last.

Amy Kennedy scored a speactaular winning point for Burgess Duharra who will now play Cork champions Milford or St, Catherines in the Munster club championship on November 4.



Good luck to the Tipperary schools in action in the Dr. Harty Cup Colleges A Hurling this week. On Tuesday October 16, at Fermoy at 3pm Our Lady’s Templemore play Charleville CBS.

On Wednesday October 17 all at 1.30pm, Nenagh CBS play Bandon HS at Charleville; Thurles CBS play Midleton CBS at Cahir; and Clonmel CBS play Castletroy CC at Golden.


Information concerning all areas in the GAA will appear in this section in the future.

If you wish to include any item of interest in future articles, please contact the County Public Relations Officer Ger Ryan at on or before 3pm on Monday.

Visit the Tipperary GAA web site at keep up to date with all the latest news in Tipperary GAA circles.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.