Search our Archive


Loughmore Castleiney Named Munster Club of the Year

Loughmore Castleiney have been named Munster Senior Club of the Year folowing their exploits in winning the hurling and football double in The Premier county.

Loughmore Castleiney have been named Munster Senior Club of the Year folowing their exploits in winning the hurling and football double in The Premier county.

The prestigious honours were announced this week in advance of the awards ceremony in Killarney on Saturday night.

Limerick hurler, Richie McCarthy, Kerry’s James ‘Donoghue and Clare Senior Hurling Manager Davy Fitzgerald were named the top winners of the Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards 2013.

Limerick’s Full Back Richie McCarthy was outstanding for this year’s Munster Hurling Champions. He’s made the full back position his own in the last couple of seasons since making his championship debut in 2011.

Kerry’s James O’Donoghue has been selected as the Senior Footballer of the year. The Killarney Legion man has burst on the scene this year winning an All Star in his first full championship season.

Meanwhile Davy Fitzgerald was named Manager of the Year for his leadership of the Clare All Ireland Winning Senior Hurling Team. Davy’s management style is based on building huge passion and commitment amongst his players and his achievement in leading the Clare men to their first All-Ireland success since 1997 makes him a worthy winner.

Speaking on the announcement of these winners, Bord Gáis Energy Managing Director David Kirwan said: “I am delighted that the hard work and achievements of both James O’Donoghue and Richie McCarthy has been recognised. Both players have been outstanding for their respective counties over the last few years. And I would also like to congratulate Davy Fitzgerald on his well-deserved award for his exceptional achievements and work as manager to the Clare Senior Hurling team”.

Also speaking on the announcement of these awards Robert Frost, Chairman of Munster GAA said “Richie McCarthy and James O’Donoghue contributed hugely to their teams march through Munster to secure titles for Limerick and Kerry respectively. The success of a young Clare team in winning All-Ireland Senior honours following a memorable hurling season is testament to the leadership of Davy Fitzgerald and he is a deserving winner of Manager of the Year”

The full list of Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Sports Star of the Year Awards are as follows:

Minor Hurling – Ronan Lynch (Limerick)

Minor Football – Jack Savage (Kerry)

Under 21 Hurling – Colm Galvin (Clare)

Under 21 Football – Brian Hurley (Cork)

Intermediate Hurling – Darragh Egan (Tipperary)

Junior Football – Ruari Deane (Cork)

Camogie Award – Michelle Casey (Limerick)

Ladies Football – Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Kerry)

Handballer of Year – Colin Crehan (Clare)

Service to Refereeing – Michael Keane (Cork)

Service in Education – Liam Hodnett (Cork)

Media Award – Paddy Finucane (Tipperary)

Distinguished Service to the GAA – Padraig Mac Mathúna (Clare)

Special Merit Award – Sean Power (Waterford)

Hall of Fame Football – Mike Sheehy (Kerry)

Hall of Fame Hurling – John Galvin (Waterford)

Club of Year – Loughmore-Castleiney (Tipperary)

Senior Hurler of Year – Richie McCarthy (Limerick)

Senior Footballer of Year – James O’Donoghue (Kerry)

Manager of Year – Davy Fitzgerald (Clare).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.