Search our Archive


St Vincent’s Prove Too Strong For Moycarkey

By Cathal Ryan

Munster Club Intermediate

Football Quarter-Final

St. Vincents 1-12

Moycarkey Borris 0-6

Cork Champions St Vincents saw off a spirited Moycarkey Borris challenge on Saturday afternoon in Pairc Ui Rinn to see them through to the semi final of the Munster Intermediate Club Championship against Clare representatives O’ Curry’s.

The Cork men began with serious intent and registered twice in as many minutes after the throw in. Centre forward Jonathon Buckley thumped a 40 yard left footed effort over followed swiftly by a right footed effort from Derek O Connor to cap an incisive sniping run from left half forward. Moycarkey were then in the fourth minute of the contest presented with their best opportunity to find the opposition net. A delightful build up mixing hand and foot passes culminated in a chance when Phil Kelly collected from the air on the left edge of the square. In a one on one battle with his opposing defender Kelly jinked inside the challenge beautifully before attempting to place into the corner of the net. Patrick O Shea between the posts for St Vincents leaped to his left and foiled the attempt with a superb save.

Ten minutes after the break St Vincents took control of proceedings when they caught the opposing defence napping with a quick free kick from full forward Anthony Buckley. The quick chip into the square found Cian Barry with a yard of space. With his back to goal and challenges looming, Barry instantly swivelled onto his left foot and fired a shot that despite the great efforts of keeper Daniel Kirby found the back of the net. This created a gap that was unattainable for Moycarkey but in true spirit they made the opposition work all the way to the final whistle.

St Vincents followed up last weekend’s county success over St Michaels with a classy display of point taking from their forwards. As they progress to the semi final stage they must be among the favourites to claim the Munster honours. Moycarkey had a great run in the county championship and playing opposition such as St Vincents will only aid their improvement for next year’s challenges.

After the Rebel side’s fast start Moycarkey slowly settled into a rhythm obtaining and maintaining possession with a superior level of comfort and control, they had closed the gap to a single point after a quarter of an hour courtesy of the accuracy of Anthony Healy’s free taking. However the pace was intensified by the Cork champions and they notched up four without reply before the break through Cian Barry, Jonathon Buckley, Derek O Connor and an Anthony Buckley free leaving the half time score 0-8 to 0-3.

The second half began competitively with Moycarkey defending stoutly while looking to penetrate in attack with more force. However the goal ten minutes after the restart quashed the resurgence and this was not aided by the fact they were reduced to fourteen men as wing back John Kelly received a second yellow card in the same passage of play.

Anthony Healy continued to forage superbly in the inside forward line as he claimed all but one of Moycarkey’s scores. However St Vincents were the superior side, with some tremendous forwards who could score from all different points of their attack aligned with enormous physical presence in the middle of the field they eased to victory in the final 20 minutes.

St Vincents: Patrick O Shea; David Collins, Paul Aherne, Wayne Murphy; Tomas O Connell (0-2), Kevin Goulding, Darren O Regan; Stephen Ray, Shane Buckley; Anthony Harte (0-1), Jonathon Buckley (0-3, 1F), Christopher Kenneally; Cian Barry (1-2), Anthony Buckley (0-1, 1F), Derek O Connor (0-3). Subs: Anthony O Callaghan for D. Collins (34), Daniel Duggan for J. Buckley (37), Frank Murphy for D. O Connor (51), Mark Smith for P. O Shea (54), Gerard Kelleher for T. O Connell (56).

Moycarkey Borris: Daniel Kirby; Niall O Sullivan, Paul Dempsey, Brian Moran; John Kelly, Patrick Carey, Michael Cussen; Eamon Flanagan (0-1), Rory Ryan; Mossy Bracken, Paudie Doran, Pat Molloy; Kieran Morris, Phil Kelly, Anthony Healy (0-5, 4F). Subs: Michael Roche for M. Bracken (40), James Bourke for P. Doran (44), Jeff Fallon for R. Ryan (52), John Bergin for P. Molloy (58).

Referee: Michael Meade (Limerick).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.