Search our Archive


Tipperary Triumph In Humphrey Kelleher Memorial Cup

In their next encounter Tipp played Cork and qualified for the final on a score of Tipperary 2-07 Cork 0-09.

In their next encounter Tipp played Cork and qualified for the final on a score of Tipperary 2-07 Cork 0-09.

In the final which took place in Millstreet Tipp were up against Cork Rebel Og.

It was the young rebels that got a dream start as Shane Kingston had the Premier net shaking. However Emmett Moloney played the captains part and had the rebel net shaking with a superb goal.

From this point onwards the Tipp boys showed a more determined approach to the task on hand, looking sharper and focussed.

The midfield pairing of Stephen Quirke and Thomas Nolan coupled with centre back Danny Owens put their authority on the game.

Cork had to rely heavily on their last line of defence Ronan Donovan so as to ensure his side of any meaningful participation as the opening period neared conclusion. The halftime score of 1-06 to 1-04 in favour of Tipp.

The score did nor reflect the true dominance of the premier boys performance during the first of the contest.

Upon the resumption the Tipp pressure yielded fruitful returns with goals coming from Michael Goherty and Jack Kennedy which put Tipp collecting the trophy which they had won for the first time in 2010.

Such was the power of the premier team as they added 2-06 to their final tally while conceding a mere two points.

The final score reading Tipperary 3-12 Cork Rebel Og 1-07.

Full credit to the management team of Tommy Sheehan, Kieran Healy, Tommy Ryan and Tommy Landers for a job well executed.

The victorious panel as follows: C. Manton, B. Johnson, E. Fanning, J. Sheehan, D. Owens (0-01), J. Moriarty, S. Quirke (0-01), T. Nolan (0-02), J. Bergin (0-01), L. Fahy (0-01), E. Moloney (1-00), E. Moloney, A. Tynan (0-04), R. Peters (0-01), M. Hogan (0-01), C. Mahoney, M. Goherty (1-00), J. Kennedy (1-00), S. Meagher, A. Fitzgearld, L. Powell, S. Power, M. Conners, C. Clancy, C. O’Donnell, B. Floyd, C. Thorpe, S. Moloney, E. Heffernan, T. Lowry.

Inter county U 16 All Ireland hurling tournament: The officer Bórd of Tiobraid Arann Bórd held a meeting on Tuesday last with the host clubs for the staging of this years U 16 A & B All Ireland inter county hurling tournaments. Tipperary Supporters Club has very kindly sponsored us with this venture over the last number of years and we are very appreciative of their valued support. This year’s tournaments are being played in north division venues and we are in debited to so many hard working club personnel for the huge effort they put into staging the games.

The games are taking place on Saturday September 1st with the finals of both A competitions provisionally scheduled for Semple Stadium on Sunday September 2nd. The B competition is being hosted by Toomevara club and will be concluded on the Saturday September 1st.

The following is the fixtures for the A competition: Group 1 games in Dolla Galway v Waterford @10.30am, Waterford v Offaly @ 12.30pm, Offaly v Galway @2.30pm.

Group 2 games in Kilcolman Laois v Dublin @10.30am, Dublin v Clare @12.30pm, Clare v Laois @2.30pm.

Group 3 games in Nenagh Antrim v Tipperary @10.30am, Tipperary v Limerick @12.30pm, Limerick v Antrim @2.30pm.

Group 4 games in Puckane Wexford v Kilkenny 10.30am, Kilkenny v Cork @12.30pm, Cork v Wexford @2.30pm.

The Cup semi finals are as follows: Winners of group 1 v group 2 in Dolla @4.30pm, Winners of group 3 v group 4 in Nenagh.

Shield semi finals are as follows: Second placed teams of group 1 v group 2 in Kilcolman @4.30pm, Second placed teams of group 3 v group 4 in Puckane @4.30pm.

The B competition comprise of two groups with the top team from each group contesting the final. All the games are being played in Toomevara as follows - Group 1: Tipperary v Cork @10.30am, Cork v Kilkenny @12.30pm, Kilkenny v Tipperary @2.30pm.

Group 2: Waterford v Limerick @10.30am, Limerick v Galway @12.30pm, Galway v Limerick @ 2.30pm.

The final is scheduled for 4.30pm.

We once again appreciate Burgess, Nenagh, Silvermines, Kildangan and Toomevara for hosting all the games.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.