Search our Archive


News on the Tipperary handball scene

Annerville award for Fergal Collins: At the Annerville awards (formerly the Cidona awards) Fergal Collins Ballina Handball Club received an award for his winning both 40x20 & 60x30 Intermediate doubles titles and also reaching the 60x30 singles final.

Annerville award for Fergal Collins: At the Annerville awards (formerly the Cidona awards) Fergal Collins Ballina Handball Club received an award for his winning both 40x20 & 60x30 Intermediate doubles titles and also reaching the 60x30 singles final.

This was a great honour for the young Ballina player to be with the top sports men & women of the county who excelled in 2013 and be among legends such as Tony Wall who received the Knocknagow award.

This is Fergals 5th. award as he was also a recipient in 2003, 2006, 2010 & 2011. This was a very busy time for Tipperary Juvenile handball with the Cumann na mBunscoil County Finals & Munster Finals , Gael Linn Munster Finals & the North Tipperary Championship Finals.

The Cumann na mBunscoil County finals were hosted by Ballinahinch & Youghalarra Clubs. 12 Schools took part with 69 players competing resulting in 44 games of Handball. The standard was very high and all winners should do well in the Munster finals which take place in Kerry in Ballymacgelligot & Tralee. Thanks to all who helped out with the smooth running of the Finals. A special to the referees & all who provided refreshments

Winners going forward to the Munster finals: GU11S – Megan Morris (Ardcroney N.S.), GU11D – Grainne O Brien/Amy Mc Keogh (Ballina N.S.), GU13S – Laura Shinnors (Ardcroney N.S.), GU13D – Siobhan Prentice/Isobel Farnan (Ballina N.S.), BU11S – Conor Mc Kelvey (Lissenhall N.S.), BU11D – Cian Oakley/Cathal O Donnell (Ballina N.S.), BU13S – Sean Carolan (Ballinahinch N.S.), BU13D – Ben White/Tommy Fitzgerald (John the Babpist Cashel).

The Juvenile North Tipperary 40x20 Championship finals were hosted by Youghalarra on Sunday. A large crowd enjoyed the games in the newly refurbished court in Kilcoleman.

Results - U10S: David Ryan (S/Mines) Bt Jack Mulcahy (Lahorna), U10D: Jack Mullany/Malachy (B/Hinch) Bt Evan Carey/Aaron Lee (Ballina), U11S: Adam Fogarty (Ballina) Bt Conor Mc Elvey (S/Mines), U11D: Nathan Lenihan /Stephen Coffey (B/Hinch) Bt Cian Oakley/Cathal O Donnell (Ballina), U12S: Eoin Healy (Newport) Bt Rory Grace (Lahorna), U12D: Cormac Doheny/James Loughnane (Lahorna) Bt Karl Kelly & Joey Kelly (B/Hinch), U13S: Jack O Keefe (Yoghalarra) Bt Cameron Spillane (Nenagh), U13D: Sean Hayes & Matthew Spain (Lahorna) Bt Corey Ryan/Conor Power (Ballina), U14S: Daire Madden (Lahorna) Bt Billy Mc Grath (Nenagh), U14D: John Mc Grath & Sean Mc Adams (Lahorna) V Sean Spillane/Darragh Mc Elvey (S/Mines) – to be played on Tuesday night. U15S: Barry O Meara (Newport) Bt Ronan Tucker (Youghalarra), U15D: Shane Flynn/Sean Mc Tiernan (Nenagh), U16S: Jerome Cahill (Lahorna) Bt Adam Healy (Nenagh), U16D: Dan Healy/Evan Hannon ( Newport) Bt Kieran Ryan/Ross Healy (B/Hinch), U17S: Liam Bradshaw (Newport) Bt Keith Nealon (Youghalarra), U17D: Dean Foley/Dara Murphy (Newport) Bt Paul carroll/Jack Moloney (Youghalarra).

Girls - U10D: Katie O Keefe / Emma Cooney (Youghalarra), U11S: Megan Morris (Nenagh) Bt Anna O Keefe (youghalarra), U11D: Laura O Flaherty/Nicola Tucker (Youghalarra) Bt Amy Mc Keogh/Grainne O Brien (Ballina), U12S: Rachel Shanahan (Silvermines), U12D: Siobhan Prentice /Isobel Farnan (Ballina) Bt Emily Gould/Aine Spain (Lahorna), U13S: Katie Morris (Nenagh) Bt Hazel Mc Mahon (Ballina), U14S: Eimear Meagher (Nenagh) Bt Eleanor Percy (Lahorna), U14D: Riona Gillespie /Catlin O Halloran (Youghalarra), U15S: Sinead Meagher (Nenagh), U15D: Katie Gould/Sile Spain (lahorna), U17D: Ciardha Maher/Aine Gillespie (Youghalarra).

In the Gael Linn Munster Competition in Clarecastle in Clare Tipperary were represented by Cameron Spillane & Katie Morris (Nenagh) Well done to both who reached the Semi-Finals but were beaten by Clare.

Cumann na mBunscoil Munster Finals: The 2014 Cumann na mBunscoil Munster finals were hosted by Kerry in Ballymacgelligot & Tralee venues on Saturday 25th January. With 8 Munster titles at stake Tipperary fared very well winning 3 Titles, Kerry 3, Clare 1 & Limerick 1. Tipperary players put in a great performance overall and after some great displays reached 7 of the 8 finals.

Cumann na mBunscoil Munster Finals Results - Buachaillí Fé 11: Singil - Sean Quirke Curraheen N.S. Kerry Bt Conor Mc Kelvey Lissenhall N.S. Buachaillí Fé 11 Dúbla - Micheal Mullane/Kevin Bowler Raheen N.S. Kerry Bt Robert Mc Carthy/Jack Shanahan Broadford N.S. Limerick. Buachaillí Fé 13 Singil - Sean Carolan Ballinahinch N.S. Tipp Bt Michael O Callaghan Freemount N.S. Buachaillí Fé 13 Dúbla - Ben White/Tommy Fitzgerald John the Babptist Cashel Tipp Bt Luke Barrett/Colin Healy Liscarroll N.S. Cork.

Cailíní Fé 11 Singil - Chloe Philpott Kilkishen N.S. Clare Bt Megan Morris Ardcroney N.S. Tipp. Cailíní Fé 11 Dúbla - Grainne O Brien/Amy Mc Keogh Ballina N.S. Tipp Bt Sinead Halpin/Aisling Meade Galbally Limerick - Cailíní Fé 13 Singil: Daniell O Donoghue Novohal N.S. Kerry Bt Laura Shinnors Ardcroney N.S. Tipp. Cailíní Fé 13 Dúbla - Emma Morrissey/Katelyn Kennedy Galbally Limerick Bt Siobhan Prentice/Isobel Farnan Ballina N.S. Tipp.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.