Search our Archive


Tiobraid Arann Bórd na nOg Scene

Tipp secured U15 Hurling Title in Carrighdhun Tournament

Tipp secured U15 Hurling Title

in Carrighdhun Tournament

This annual tournament always provides both a test of stamina as well as hurling skills as it consists of four league rounds all in quick succession with the top two qualifying for the final.

In round 1. Tipperary played the host county of Cork. At the interval the sides were all tied at four points apiece.

In the second half Tipperary were in a more comfortable zone enjoying a three point lead going into the final minute of the game and appeared to be home and dry. Then disaster struck when the rebels had the net shaking for the only goal of the game to put the full time score at Tipperary 0-07 Cork 1-05.

This result meant that the management had to ensure that they had to win their remaining games while also judging how to rest some of the leading players.

Scorers Dean Fitzgerald 0-03 from frees, Michael Connors 0-02, Stephen Quirke 0-01, Shane Hennessy 0-01

Next up the opposition came from the Deice with Dean Fitzgerald getting the opening goal of the contest to put the half time score in favour of Tipp reading Tipperary 1-02 Waterford 0-05.Upon the resumption Tipperary only conceded two points while adding six to the score sheet to put the full time score at Tipperary 1-08 Waterford 0-07.

Scorers Dean Fitzgerald 1-03 (0-02 frees), Alan Tynan (0-01 free), Stephen Quirke 0-01, Shane Hennessy 0-01, Thomas Nolan 0-01

In round three the opposition came from the banner county of Clare.

Again Tipp got the only goal of the game in the opening period and were out scored by Clare who went off the pitch at the interval leading by 0-07 to 1-01.

However Tipperary left the best performance to last as they similar to their previous game managed to add six points to their tally and at the same time kept a clean sheet on the defence in holding Clare scoreless for a final score line reading Tipperary 1-07 Clare 0-07

Scorers Michael Connors 0-03, Thomas Nolan 1-00, Jack Skeehan 0-02, Alan Tynan 0-01 free, Shane Hennessy 0-01

In round four Limerick provided the opposition and once again Tipperary produced the opening goal of the contest and half time the sides were level Tipperary 1-04 Limerick 0-07.

In the second half Tipperary continued their habit of adding six points to their tally but also conceded 1-01 but held out with a two point advantage at the final whistle on a score of Tipperary 1-10 Limerick 1-08.

Scorers Dean Fitzgerald 1-02, Michael Connors 0-04, Ross Peters 0-02, Thomas Nolan 0-01, David Gleeson 0-01.

With three victories Tipperary qualified for a final showdown with the host county.

Similar to their earlier contest in round the rebels managed to score the only goal of the game.

The first half proved to be a very tight affair with score hard to come by. Tipperary was nursing some injuries which were putting pressure on players and management alike. However both stuck to the task at hand and at the half time whistle were one point in arrears on a score line Cork 0-05 Tipperary rat 0-04

Upon the resumption Tipperary got really into action and while conceding the only goal of the game had additions to the score sheet by six different players totalling eleven points in all. At the final whistle victory went to the premier boys with a six point margin on a final score line of Tipperary 0-15 Cork 1-09

Winning panel: Darragh Carey, Tommy Lowry, Emmett Moloney, Brian Carey, Eric Fanning, Darragh Peters, Edna Heffernan, Jamie Bergin, Liam Fahy, Alan Tynan, Shane Hennessy, Ross Peters, Dean Fitzgerald, Stephen Quirke, Michael Connors, Tommy McGrath, Mike Hogan, Jack Skeehan,David Roberts, Thomas Nolan, Jordan Maloney, David Gleeson, Liam McCutcheon, Conor Clancy.

Scorers Michael Connors 0-07 (0-05 free), Stephen Quirke 0-02, Shane Hennessy 0-02, Alan Tynan 0-02, Ross Peters 0-01, Dean Fitzgerald 0-01.

Results - U 14 Hurling County semi finals played on Saturday September 8th: 14 B Cappawhite 3-12 Gortnahoe Glengoole 1-02, 14 C Rosegreen 1-11 Clonakenny 2-05, 14 A Clonoulty Rossmore 1-11 Durlas Og 3-04, 14 B Kildangan 3-11 Mullinahone 1-09, 14 A Newport Gaels 1-11 Ballingarry 0-05.

The pairings for the county finals which will take place on Saturday September 15th are: 14 A Clonoulty Rossmore v Newport Gaels, 14 B Cappawhite v Kildangan, 14 C Rosegreen v Carrick Davins.

Venue and time not available at time of going to press.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.