Search our Archive


Mid Tipperary GAA Scene

Munster Club SHC Final

Munster Club SHC Final

Munster Club SHC Final

Thurles Sarsfields will make history next Sunday in Pairc Ui Chaoimh if they can overcome De La Salle of Waterford in this year’s Munster Final and claim their first provincial title.

Sarsfields only previous appearance in a provincial club championship final was two years ago when they went down to De La Salle by one point in a very low-scoring game.

The final score was 0-9 to 0-8 in De La Salle’s favour.

Sarsfields would feel that they should have won the game and shot 17 wides on the day.

However the Sarsfields team are more experienced now. The team has been outstanding in their wins so far in this championship and if they play to their undoubted potential they have a great chance to win their first provincial title.

We wish the team the very best next Sunday and hopefully Sarsfields will finish the year as Munster club champions.

County Junior A HC Final

Hard luck to Moycarkey-Borris who were beaten by Kilsheelan-Kilcash last Sunday in Boherlahan.

Kilsheelan-Kilcash got the only goal in the game which was the difference in the end.

The final score was Kilsheelan-Kilcash 1-8 Moycarkey-Borris 0-9.

County Minor A HC Semi-Final

Mid champions Holycross took on Nenagh in this year’s county minor hurling championship semi-final last Sadurday in Dolla and again goals proved to be decisive as Nenagh won the game 2-10 to Holycross 0-13.

U-21A Mid HC Semi-Final

Last year’s Mid and County champions Loughmore-Castleiney defeated Moyne-Templetuohy Og last Saturday in the first of this year’s U-21 semi-finals.

The final score was Loughmore-Castleiney 1-17 Moyne-Templetuohy Og 0-13.

Next Weekend Fixtures

Best of luck to JK Bracken’s who play Arravale Rovers in the county minor B hurling final and to Moycarkey-Borris who play Fethard in the county Junior football final.

Sean Ghael Award Winners

Congratulations to the Mid Tipperary recipients who received the Sean Ghael Award last Sunday at a Presentation Ceremony in the Dome in Semple Stadium.

The recipients have given outstanding service to their clubs and to the GAA. The following received awards: Willie Barnaville (Gortnahoe/Glengoole), Michael Murphy (Thurles Sarsfields), Martin Dwan (Drom and Inch), Bill O’Grady (Moyne-Templetuohy), Pat Cullen (Loughmore/Castleiney), Sam Melbourne (Moycarkey-Borris), John Dwyer (Boherlahan-Dualla) and Paddy Cooney (Moycarkey-Borris).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.