Search our Archive

Tipperary GAA Scene




Good luck to Thurles Sarsfields for the AIB Munster Club Senior Hurling final against De La Salle of Waterford in Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Sunday next at 2pm. Shane Hourigan of Limerick will referee the game. Extra time will be played in the event of a draw. Admission Prices are Adults - E15, Student/OAP with id - E10 and all Under 16s are free. De La Salle defeated Sarsfields by 0-9 to 0-8 when they met in the final 2 years ago. De La Salle are seeking their third Munster crown while Sarsfields are seeking their first and are aiming to become the ninth Tipperary club to win the Munster title and to bring the title to Tipperary for the 12th time. Toomevara have 3 titles, Roscrea 2 and Kilruane Mac Donaghs, Borris-Ileigh, Carrick Davins, Moycarkey Borris, Cashel KC and Loughmore Castleiney 1 each.

The champions of Tipperary and Waterford have met on 18 occasions and in every round, of the Munster Club Championship. The Premier county’s representatives had 9 wins, the Decies 8 and there was one draw. De la Salle have played in 5 Munster Club Championship games and won them all: 2 in 2008 (beat Cork Sarsfields and Adare); 2 in 2010 2010 (beat Cork Sarsfields aet and Thurles Sarsfields) and 1 in 2012 (beat Newmarket on Fergus). Their aggregate winning margin over the five games is 9 points. This year’s final will be the 265th game in the history of the Munster Club Championship.


Hard luck to Clonmel Commercials on their defeat to Dr. Crokes of Kerry by 1-14 to 0-6 in the AIB Munster Club senior football semi-final at the Dr Crokes GAA Grounds Killarney last Sunday. Conditions were very difficult which made it challenging for both teams.


Good luck to Silvermines for the AIB Munster Intermediate Hurling Final on Saturday next November 24 at Semple Stadium at 2pm. David Copps of Cork will be the referee. Admission Prices are Adults - E10, Student/OAP with id - E5 and all Under 16s are free.


Commiserations to Borrisokane on their 2-7 to 0-6 defeat to Cappamore of Limerick in the AIB Munster junior club championship quarter final at Borrisokane on Sunday last.


Nenagh Eire Og will play St. Mary’s Clonmel in the county minor A hurling final following their respective semi-final victories over Holycross Ballycahill and Cashel King Cormacs last Saturday. The final will be played on Saturday next, November 24 in Holycross at 2pm. St. Mary’s are seeking their first minor A title while Nenagh are looking to win their 7th title, the last coming in 2008.


The county minor B hurling final will be played in Boherlahan on Saturday next, November 25 at 2pm between Arravale Rovers and JK Brackens. Brackens won this title once previously in 2004 while Rovers have never won it.


Congratulations to Kilsheelan on winning their first County Junior A hurling final by defeating Moycarkey-Borris by 1-8 to 0-9 at Boherlahan on Sunday last. It was a proud day for County Chairman Sean Nugent to see his own club win a county title and then have the honour of presenting the cup to captain Shane Prendergast. It was the first adult hurling county title won by the club, crowning a great year which also saw Bill Maher captain Tipperary to an All Ireland minor hurling title.


The county junior B football final will be played on Saturday, November 24 at New Inn at 6pm between Moycarkey-Borris and Fethard. Moycarkey-Borris are seeking their first title at this grade and Fethard are seeking their second having previously won in 1998.


The County Board will hold a Players Forum in the Dome at Semple Stadium on Thursday, November 22 at 8pm. Each club is invited to send 2 players aged over 18 to the forum which will be held in a practical workshop format to give each player a chance to participate fully in the discussions. Representatives of the under 21 and senior inter-county panels will also be invited. There will also be 2 short presentations from guest speakers – Fr. Tom Fogarty and Barry Kelly. Fr. Tom Fogarty is President of St. Patrick’s College in Thurles and is a former Tipperary senior hurling manager with vast experience playing with and managing many teams at club and county level. Barry Kelly from Westmeath has been one of hurling’s top referees for the last decade and achieved widespread acclaim for the manner in which he refereed this year’s All Ireland senior hurling final drawn game. He also refereed the 2006 and 2008 finals. The output from the forum will be important to the County Board in making plans for the year ahead and is an opportunity for the County Board to hear the views of players first hand. All clubs are asked to ensure that they are represented by 2 players. There will be a wide range of topics discussed and the forum is an ideal and innovative opportunity for players to speak on subjects of importance to them and put forward ideas for implementation.


Congratulations to all the Sean Ghael Award winners who were presented with their awards by GAA Trustee and former Munster Council Chairman, Jimmy O’Gorman, at the annual function at the Dome at Semple Stadium last Sunday. Fr. Seamus Gardiner spoke on behalf of the recipients. Well done to the organising committee – John Costigan, Micheál O’Meara, Seamus McCarthy, Noel Morris, Seamus J King and Pat Moroney on a job well done as usual.


The Tipperary Hurling Club in New York will hold its Annual Dinner Dance on Saturday, December 8th at the Lake Isle Country Club, Eastchester. The guest of honour will be Jimmy Lyons of Grangemockler who won 10 New York senior hurling championship medals with the Tipperary club and played on the New York senior hurling team for 12 years. He won 5 New York senior football medals with the Connemara Gaels. He also represented Tipperary at minor, under 21 and senior football and intermediate hurling. His nephew, Bill Maher captained the Tipperary minor hurlers this year. Other special guests include Bill Maher and Jim Kehoe. For more information contact Brendan Maher in New York on +1 646 361 5544. Or Mike Kennedy on +1 646 208 3716 or by e-mail on MichaelK@optonline.net.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.