Search our Archive


St. Mary’s (Clonmel) reach county minor hurling final

ST. MARY’S 3-12


ST. MARY’S minor hurlers are in with a fighting chance of making history following their defeat of Cashel King Cormacs in the County Minor ‘A’ Hurling Championship semi-final at Drombane on Saturday last.

The Clonmel side have never won the county minor hurling title and only Nenagh Eire Og now stand in their way of glory on Sunday afternoon next.

Having beaten reigning county champions Mullinahone in the South semi-final after trailing by nine points at one stage in the game; then Moyle Rovers in the South final and the King Cormacs in the county semi - St. Mary’s have serious credentials heading for the county showpiece. It will take a very good team to deny them their place in the record books.

On Saturday last at Drombane the Clonmel side, led by Jason Lonergan, proved too strong for Cashel King Cormacs winning by 12 points in the end. Lonergan contributed nine points to the overall tally, with seven points from placed balls; the three goals scored by Liam Ryan, Ross Peters and Darren Cass.

Cashel had excellent peformances from Dylan Fitzelle, Simon Delaney and Gearoid Slattery, but overall had to give second best to the South champions. The King Cormacs goal was scored by Raymie O’Leary with James Cummins their top scorer with four points.

St. Mary’s: Michael Boland, Richie Gunne, Sean Gunne, Robert Lyons, Ciaran Brady, Colman Kennedy, David Collins, Darren Casse (1-0), Jason Lonergan (0-9, 0-7F), Liam Murchan (0-2), Brian Walsh, Padraig Looram, Liam Ryan (1-0), Chrissie Walsh, Eric Walsh.

Subs: Ross Peters (1-1) and Sammy Ryan for Pauric Looram and Eric Walsh (both half-time); Cathal McGeever for Liam Ryan; Ronan Brady for Chrissie Walsh; Eric Walsh for Sammy Ryan.

Cashel King Cormacs: Jonathan Walsh, Kevin Shiels, Alan Cummins, Thomas Grogan, Shane Murphy, Fionnan Ryan, Conor Devitt, Gearoid Slattery, Simon Delaney, Cathal Minogue, Dylan Fitzelle (0-1F), Adrian O’Dwyer (0-1), James Cummins (0-4F), Daniel Bowes, Padraig O’Donoghue.

Subs: Raymie O’Leary (1-0) for Fionnan Ryan; Fionnan Ryan for Daniel Bowes; Cormac Ryan for Dylan Fitzelle; Dylan Fitzelle for Padraig O’Donoghue.

John Cleary (Knockshegowna).

Full report in ‘The Nationalist’ on Wednesday

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.