Search our Archive


Moyle Rovers put in big finish to claim title in style

Aidan Butler, captain of Moyle Rovers, accepts the Fitzpatrick Cup (South Under 21 B Hurling Championship) from Michael Cooney, Chairman South Board, following Moyle Rovers win over Anner Gaels at Davin Park on Sunday last.  Also in picture is Noel Byrne, South Board treasurer.
Moyle Rovers put in a storming last twenty minutes, scoring nine points without reply, to beat Anner Gaels 0-21 to 0-9 in the Pat Cleere-sponsored South Tipperary under 21 hurling championship final in Davin Park on Sunday.

Moyle Rovers put in a storming last twenty minutes, scoring nine points without reply, to beat Anner Gaels 0-21 to 0-9 in the Pat Cleere-sponsored South Tipperary under 21 hurling championship final in Davin Park on Sunday.

By winninig the Fitzpatrick Cup they added to their Minor A Hurling title won earlier in the year.

They gave an excellent display of first touch hurling with skills in abundance and now go forward to the County stages as South representatives next weekend

They had excellent displays from Ross Mulcahy, Brian Gleeson, Morgan Irwin, Stephen Quirke, David Roberts and Dara Ryan while for a gallant Anner Gaels, a Fethard and St Patrick’s combination, Darren Boland, Brian Healy, Nicky Kearney, Brendan Gleeson and Mark Mullally were the pick of the bunch.

Playing with the strong breeze, Anner Gaels were first off the mark when Aidan Buckley scored a point from play and this was shortly followed by a well taken point from a free by Cathal Hurley.

Moyle Rovers opened their account in the 6th minute from a free from 50m by Dara Ryan and then added a second to bring the sides level.

A long range shot from Brian Delahunty hopped in the Moyle Rovers square and over the bar to restore the Gaels’ lead but in the 15th minute Morgan Irwin levelled up matters again with a great point from play.

Rovers forged ahead with the outstanding Stephen Quirke pointing from almost 70m out. Anner Gaels drew level again at 0-4 each in the 17th minute when Cathal Hurley pointed a free.

Within a minute Stephen Quirke pointed a long range free with Anner Gaels drawing level again from a free by Cathal Hurley.

From the 22nd to the 28th minute Moyle Rovers pulled away by four points, three frees from Dara Ryan and a point from play by Stephen Quirke.

In the final two minutes of the half we had an exchange of points - for Anner Gaels a free by Cathal Hurley and for Moyle Rovers a point from play by Dave Roberts leaving the half time score Moyle Rovers 0-10 Anner Gaels 0-6.

After the interval Moyle Rovers increased their lead with a point from Dara Ryan from play and Anner Gaels replied with two points from frees within a minute, both scored by Cathal Hurley to reduce the lead to a goal.

Stephen Quirke made it four between the sides with an excellent point from play and in the 36th minute Cathal Hurley scored a point from a free for Anner Gaels but this was to betheir last score.

From there to the end it was all one way traffic for Moyle Rovers who went into a different gear, scoring nine points - three from frees and one from play from Dara Ryan, two from play and one from a free from Brian Gleeson, one from play from Dave Roberts with the final score of the game coming in 60th minute from play by substitute Tommy Morrissey.

Rovers were deserving winners with the class showing at the end and their county minor hurlers coming to the fore in all quarters. the Moyle Rovers captain Aidan Butler accepted the Fitzpatrick Cup from South Board Chairman Michael Cooney before jubilant Moyle Rovers supporters

Scorers, Moyle Rovers, Dara Ryan 0-10(9f), Stephen Quirke 0-4(1f), Brian Gleeson 0-3(2f), Dave Roberts 0-2, Morgan Irwin 0-1, Tommy Morrissey 0-1.

Anner Gaels, Cathal Hurley 0-7 (8f), Brian Delahunty 0-1, Aidan Buckley 0-1.

Moyle Rovers - Eoin O’Connor, Paddy Morrissey, Brian Norris, Aidan Butler, Kevin O’Donnell, Ross Mulcahy, Shane Luttrell, Brian Gleeson, Shane Lonergan, Morgan Irwin, Stephen Quirke, David Roberts, Dominic Walsh, Cathal Quigley, Dara Ryan. Subs - Tadg Fitzgerald for Dominic Walsh, Michael Fox for Morgan Irwin, Tommy Morrissey for Stephen Quirke, Keith Cronin for Dave Roberts, Craig Condon for Cathal Quigley.

Anner Gaels - Darren Boland, Ciaran Mockler, Brian Healy, Ciaran O’Meara, Paul Moloney, Nicky Kearney, Conor Clancy, Brian Delahunty, Aidan Buckley, Brendan Gleeson, Mark Mullally, Cathal Hurley, William O’Brien, Robert Meagher, Mark Slattery. Subs - William Morgan for William O’Brien (51m), Alex O’Donovan for Conor Clancy (55m), Conor Cuddihy for Robert Meagher (58m),

Referee - Brian Tyrrell (Commercials)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.