Search our Archive


Golden do enough to reach final

County U-21 B Football Championship semi-final

Golden do enough to reach final

Golden/Kilfeacle 0-12

Moycarkey/Borris 1-7

A dominant second half display from Golden/Kilfeacle ensured their place in the County U-21 B County Football Final as they overcame the challenge of Moycarkey/Borris at Clonmel Sportsfield last Saturday evening.

The second half dismissal of Moycarkey/Borris defender John Cussen made a tough task all the more difficult as they trailed late on, and although forward Anthony McKelvey found the net in the dying moments it wasn’t enough, and Golden/Kilfeacle held on.

McKelvey fired over the first score of the game to give Moycarkey an early lead but it was the only time they held an advantage, as Golden hit back with points from Seanie O’Halloran and Ethan Rodgers to give them a lead their early possession deserved.

The best opportunity to raise a green flag in the early stages came in the 9th minute when Moycarkey/Borris' Michael Foley found himself with time and space 15 metres out but he chose to go for power, firing over to bring the sides level when a goal looked on the cards.

An entertaining first half saw the sides level on four separate occasions. Andy Byrnes, Keith Landy, Seanie O’Halloran and Josh Keane had points for Golden with Eric Fanning and Anthony McKelvey (2) replying for Moycarkey.

The second half saw Golden open up a four-point lead as Seanie O’Halloran and Josh Keane took control of the game and it was O’Halloran who scored the first point of the half with a sublime effort .

Daniel Currivan posted his first score of the game after 34 minutes after good work in the build-up from O’Halloran. Four points was cut to three when Anthony McKelvey scored a point from a free after 43 minutes but any hopes of a Moycarkey comeback were soon hampered with the dismissal of defender John Cussen with 15 minutes remaining.

Shane O’Connell, Josh Keane and Seanie O’Halloran added to the scoreboard for Golden and although McKelvey responded with 1-1 in the dying moments time ran out.

Moycarkey/Borris - Jack Bryan, Michael Bergin, Aidan Maher, John Cussen, Rory Regan, Kieran Cummins, Matty Ryan, Tom Hayes, Eric Fanning (0-1) Kevin O’Regan, Niall Heffernan, Michael Foley (0-1), Anthony McKelvey (1-5), JJ Darmody, Jack Hackett.

Golden/Kilfeacle - Killian Hayde, Robbie Wade, Cian O’Connell, Thomas Wade, Ethan Rodgers (0-1), Shane O’Connell (0-1), David Wade, Niall Heffernan, Joshua Keane (0-2), Daniel Currivan (0-1), Keith Landy (0-1), Seanie O’Halloran (0-5), Jonathon Wade, Niall Fogarty, Andy Byrnes (0-1).

Subs - Matthew O'Keeffe for Thomas Wade (58 minutes) and Jack Fogarty for Jonathan Wade (58 minutes).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.