Search our Archive


Four new records in Coillte Road Races Dundrum

Coillte 10k

Four new records in Coillte Road Races Dundrum

Wednesday 6th July the annual Coillte 10k which also includes a 5k for Juniors was ran for the 31st time.

On a good night for racing a huge field of over 300 runners went to the start line representing 44 different clubs. After a moments applause in memory of the late John Butler who was a great servant to the club and this race in the eighties and nineties. His son Pierce blew the whistle to set them on their way.

On the staggered start to accommodate the 5k distance Nenagh Olympic Junior Darren Dunne was gone from the whistle. Darren was never caught and came home in a course record time of 15:12 knocking eight seconds off the old record which had stood since 2004. Incredibly Darren also won this race in 2011 as a 14 year old in 17:35. The same applied to junior woman Louise Stack who came with the large contingent from Portlaoise AC. Louise was also gone from the whistle and came home in a magnificent time of 19:05 and in the process knocked 3 seconds off the old junior record which has stood since 2001. Super running by both juniors and we will watch their progress with interest. Maybe someday they will return and become a member of the select few to win 5k and the 10k. Eddie Allen EMO/Rath in 18:18 and Domhnall O’Farrell Portlaoise 18:48 were 2nd and 3rd respectively in the junior men. While Sorcha Moloney Ballyroan 20:38 and Poppy Hackett St Michael’s 21:30 took second and third in the junior women to ensure a midlands domination of the 5k.

In the 10k Declan Moore Bilboa like the junior winners was again gone from the whistle. Declan who has been running very well of late came back into the village after one lap well clear of the field. He was pursued by a host of athletes nearly all from different clubs. Leading the charge was John Meade from St Finbarrs, Martin Doody Limerick, Brian Murphy Ennis Track, Danny Smith Ballynonty, Bernard McCullagh Limerick and Trevor Power Waterford.

Declan kept the strong pace going out on the second lap to come home a very convincing winner in a time of 32:38 to add a new name to the winners list. Declan also became one of the select few to have won both races having won the Junior 5k in 2012. John ran on well to come home a clear second in 33:08. Brian Murphy held off Danny Smith for 3rd and 4th respectively in 33:41 and 33:45 respectively. Danny once again winning the Tim Crowe trophy for been the first Tipperary athlete to finish the 10k presented to him by the sponsor of the trophy Dominic Moore after the event. Bernard and Trevor finished two seconds apart in 33:51 and 33:53 for 5th and 6th respectively.

The category section had some tremendous battles with Martin Doody Limerick 3rd overall and 1st over forty in 33:34 followed by Barry Minnock Nuparc in 34:03. Local man Dermot Hayes Dundrum kept the host club in the prizes with a great win in the over forty five section in 36:05 from Peter Madden Templemore in 37:09. Paul Moran Rathfarnham made the trip from Dublin and had a magnificent run to break the over fifty record by 66 seconds which had stood since 1996 finishing in 34:12. Aengus Burke from Portlaoise also broke the record when finishing 2nd in 34:59. Brian O’Reilly made his annual trip from Cavan to win the over fifty five section in 42:38. The last record on the night broken was by James O’Sullivan Tipperary Town who knocked 21 seconds off the old record for a great run and win in the over 60 section in a time of 40:15.

The women’s 10k had another clear win for Borrisokane’s Siobhan O’Doherty in 37:18 her 5th win in a row since 2012. Second and 3rd place had a tremendous battle between Clonmel’s Aine Roche and Dundrum’s Linda Grogan with Aine getting the nod in 40:43 from Linda in 40:47 Linda knocking 91 seconds off her previous best time. Ali O’Connor St Finbarr’s 4th 42:09, Jean Mulcahy An Bru 5th 43:18 and Louisa Condon Thurles Crokes 6th 44:08 ensured six different clubs in the top six senior women placing.

The women categories had Aoife Carroll Mallow 1st over 35 in 43:07 with Karen Coughlan Dundrum 2nd in 43:58. Monica Corcoran St Michaels was 1st over 40 in 41:19 from Phil Ryan Ballynonty 41:51. The evergreen Martina Ryan Thurles Crokes was 1st over 45 in 45:45 from Olwyn Larkin Portlaoise 2nd in 47:04. Anna Byrne Clonmel was 1st over 50 in 45:23. Dorothy Ryan Country Club was 1st over 55 in 45:01.While the teak tough Hilary Collins Coolquill was 1st over 60 in 55:02. Well done to all on a great nights racing.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.