Search our Archive


Tipperary schools impress as Dr Harty Cup shifts up a gear

Tipperary schools impress as Dr Harty Cup shifts up a gear

Our Lady's Templemore captain Paddy Cadell (JK Bracken's) pictured alongside referee Kieran Delaney (Toomevara) and his St Flannan's, Ennis counterpart before their Dr Harty Cup clash.

A number of Tipperary schools impressed in the Dr Harty Cup as the prestigious colleges under-18.5A hurling competition shifted up a gear this week.

On Wednesday in Fermoy Thurles CBS roared to a 4-24 to 0-13 win over Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh, Cork. Thurles CBS launched their 2016-17 Dr Harty Cup campaign with a 3-17 to 1-8 win over De La Salle, Waterford at Clonmel and now progress to the last 16 of the competition as group winners irrespective of the result between Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh and De La Salle College on November 16th.

On Tuesday afternoon in MacDonagh Park, Nenagh Our Lady’s Templemore beat St Flannan’s, Ennis comprehensively (1-23 to 1-12) to earn themselves a seeding as group winners in the last 16 phase of this year’s competition. Our Lady’s dominated the opening half of this contest and led 0-10 to 0-3 at the interval - second half substitute Andrew Ormond notched the Templemore goal in the 56th minute.

The Our Lady’s team read as follows: Eoin Collins (Drom & Inch), Seán Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), Pauric Campion (Drom & Inch), Eoghan Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney), Éanna McBride (JK Bracken’s), Diarmaid Ryan (Clonakenny), Aidan O’Meara (Drom & Inch), Paddy Cadell (JK Bracken’s, captain, 0-2), David O’Shea (JK Bracken’s), Jerry Kelly (Borris-Ileigh, 0-5), Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney, 0-5, 0-1 ‘65), Gearóid O’Connor (Moyne-Templetuohy), Stevie Nolan (Drom & Inch), Ray McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Bracken’s, 0-9, 0-6 frees). Subs: Jason Gilmartin (Roscrea, 0-2) for O’Shea (32nd), Andrew Ormond (JK Bracken’s, 1-0) for O’Connor (47th), Neil Quinlan (JK Bracken’s) for Seán Ryan (52nd), Delacy Byrne (Clonakenny) for McBride (55th), Jack Ryan (Toomevara) for McGrath (58th).

Nenagh CBS and Abbey CBS battled it out in another two-team group at Newport on Tuesday. In the end Nenagh CBS won 1-22 to 2-16, but only after extra-time (the full-time score was: 1-16 to 2-13).

Meanwhile on Monday Clonmel High School lost out to Limerick’s Castletroy College in Seán Treacy, Tipperary Town on a 1-13 to 3-8 scoreline. Clonmel High School raced into a 1-3 to no-score lead as early as the tenth minute with the three-pointer coming courtesy of Seán Martin. Castletroy College, however, notched three first half goals and led 3-5 to 1-5 at the break. Clonmel High School held Castletroy College scoreless for the opening 20 minutes of the second half and drew level in the 57th minute before a Seán Martin effort handed the Tipperary side a precious lead. There was still time, however, for Castletroy College to eke out two late points. Clonmel High School find themselves in a three-team group and must now beat Pobail Scoil Blackwater to quality for the last sixteen phase of the competition.

Once the group stage has been completed the competition will be run on a knock-out basis (group winners will play second-placed teams in the round of sixteen) - the last 16 matches are scheduled for November 30th, the quarter-finals for January 11th, semi-finals for January 28th and the Dr Harty Cup final is pencilled in for Saturday, February 18th.

Check out the new Munster GAA PPS web site at for all the Post Primary Schools GAA news, fixtures and reports in the province.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.