Search our Archive


Fixtures confirmed for the last 16 of the Dr Harty Cup

Fixtures confirmed for the last 16 of the Dr Harty Cup

The Thurles CBS team which won the Dr Harty Cup in 2015.

The last 16 of the 2016-17 Dr Harty Cup will see Tipperary rivals Thurles CBS and Abbey CBS pitted against one another. Meanwhile Our Lady's Templemore will take on Árdscoil Uí Urmaltaigh, Bandon and Nenagh CBS will face Castletroy College.

On Wednesday, November 30th Our Lady’s Templemore meet Árdscoil Uí Urmaltaigh, Bandon in Ballyagran, Limerick at 1.30pm while Newport hosts the clash between Nenagh CBS and Castletroy College (1.30pm). Thurles CBS will be in knock-out action on Thursday, December 1st against Abbey CBS in Dundrum (2pm).

The full last 16 draw is as follows: Thurles CBS v Abbey CBS, Our Lady's Templemore v Árdscoil Uí Urmaltaigh, Bandon, Árdscoil Rís, Limerick v Scoil Na mBraithre, Rathluirc, St Francis College, Rochestown v Christian Brothers College, Cork, Nenagh CBS v Castletroy College, De La Salle v Blackwater Community School, Lismore, Scoil Na Trioniode, Doon v CBS Midleton and Coláiste Cholmáin Fermoy v St Flannan's, Ennis.

Thurles CBS are seeking their ninth provincial under-18.5A colleges title this term, a title the famed secondary school last won in 2015. This year the Thurles CBS team is managed by Eamonn Buckley, Ollie Kelly and Patrick McCormack (junior).

Our Lady’s Templemore featured in the 2016 final, but lost out to Limerick’s Árdscoil Rís - Our Lady’s won the coveted Munster colleges title once previously (1978). Nenagh CBS have never won the Dr Harty Cup while Abbey CBS, Tipperary won the title on one previous occasion (1959).

The quarter-finals are scheduled for January 11th, semi-finals for January 28th and the Dr Harty Cup final is penciled in for Saturday, February 18th.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.