Search our Archive


Tipperary announce pre-season senior hurling training panel

Tipperary announce pre-season senior hurling training panel

Tipperary senior hurling manager Michael Ryan.

The Tipperary senior hurling management team led by Michael Ryan, Declan Fanning, John Madden and Conor Stakelum have announced a pre-season training panel according to a statement released by County Board PRO Joe Bracken this Monday morning.

Pádraic Maher will captain the Tipperary senior hurling team during the 2017 campaign - Maher has been promoted from his role as vice-captain and will replace Borris-Ileigh’s Brendan Maher as captain while Drom & Inch’s Séamus Callanan has been appointed vice-captain for the up-coming season.

The senior management team have wished both players every success in their new roles.

"As two of the senior members of the panel their vast experience and leadership qualities make them the ideal players to fill these roles as Tipperary looks to maintain and improve on it's 2016 status," reads the statement released by PRO Joe Bracken.

Borris-Ileigh's Brendan Maher captained Tipperary for three years and "has been an incredible and inspirational leader" who "leaves the position with great honour and distinction culminating with Tipperary claiming All-Ireland senior glory last September under his captaincy. Brendan is thanked enormously for his contribution in the captain's role and he will no doubt continue to be a huge asset behind the scenes, as well as on the fields of play to both Pádraic and Séamus".

The Tipperary pre-season training panel is as follows:-

Goalkeepers: Darren Gleeson (Portroe), Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha) & Daragh Mooney (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill).

Defenders: Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), Séamus Kennedy (St Mary's Clonmel), Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy), Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg), Donagh Maher (Burgess), John O’Keeffe (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Willie Ryan (Clonakenny), John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney), Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Alan Flynn (Kiladangan) & Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill).

Midfielders: Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Kieran Bergin (Killenaule), Michael Breen (Ballina), Dáire Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg), Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields) & Seán Ryan (Seán Treacy’s)

Forwards: John O'Dwyer (Killenaule), Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonagh's), Jason Forde (Silvermines), Seán Curran (Mullinahone), Aidan McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields), Stephen O’Brien (Ballina), Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Éire Óg), Dylan Fitzell (Cashel King Cormacs), Paudie Green (Upperchurch-Drombane), Paul Flynn (Kiladangan), Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers) & Tommy Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.