Search our Archive


Gortnahoe-Glengoole and Ballinahinch-Templederry battle to an under-21B stalemate

Gortnahoe-Glengoole and Ballinahinch-Templederry battle to an under-21B stalemate

Gortnahoe-Glengoole’s Karl Campion pictured in action during the county under-21B hurling final. Photo: Eamonn McGee

Gortnahoe-Glengoole and Ballinahinch-Templederry battled to a stalemate in a terrific Tipperary Water County Under-21B Hurling Championship final played at Holycross on Sunday afternoon (1-19 apiece).

The game went to extra time with Gortnahoe-Glengoole’s Ronan Teehan pointing a free with the last puck of the game to force extra-time. The replay is provisionally fixed for this coming weekend.

Meanwhile a tired Toomevara team beat Carrick Swan with 11 points to spare in a one-sided Tipperary Water County Under-21A Hurling Championship semi-final played on Sunday afternoon (0-19 to 1-5) in Golden. Just 24 hours previously the Greyhounds battled to a standstill in a hard-fought North Tipperary under-21A hurling final against Kilruane MacDonagh’s in Templederry, a game which went to extra-time and finished all square. Then, on Sunday, Toome were asked to play Carrick Swan in a county semi-final following their nomination to represent the North Tipperary division.


On Saturday the final of North Tipperary Under-21A Hurling Championship between Kilruane MacDonagh’s and Toomevara finished in a draw after extra-time. At full-time the sides were level on 0-13 apiece in Templederry while the sides could not be separated in extra time and finished with 19 points each. Prior to the game the North Tipperary Board had decided to nominate Toomevara to represent the division in the county semi-final on Sunday against Carrick Swan.


Tipperary hurling star Séamus Callanan has been nominated for the RTÉ Sport Sportsperson of the Year award. And, the Tipperary Star is calling on supporters of the blue and gold everywhere to vote in support of the Drom & Inch man.

On Saturday the national broadcaster published the list of nominees for the RTÉ Sport Sportsperson of the Year award in association with Sport Ireland - the winner will be decided by a public vote.

To vote for Séamus Callanan text A to 53125 (each text vote costs 60c) or vote (free) online for the Tipperary inter-county hurling star by clicking here.

Voting will close on Monday, December 12th at 10am while the winner will be announced live at the awards ceremony on Saturday, December 17th at 9pm.

The full list of nominees for the RTÉ Sport Sportsperson of the Year award is: Séamus Callanan (hurling), Eoghan Clifford (Paralympian), Katie George Dunlevy & Eve McCrystal (Paralympians), Brian Fenton (Dublin footballer), Carl Frampton (boxer), Denise Gaule (Camogie), Jamie Heaslip (rugby), Daryl Horgan (soccer), Conor McGregor (mixed martial arts), Annalise Murphy (sialing), Paul O’Donovan (rowing) and Bríd Stack (ladies football).


A bonus-point win (32-17) over the famed Blackrock College on Saturday afternoon at New Ormond Park propelled an impressive Nenagh Ormond team to the summit of division 2A in the Ulster Bank League. And, it proved to be a more than encouraging afternoon for Tipperary rugby when news filtered through that Cashel RFC had also got the better of Queen’s University (24-22). Both Tipperary sides now take a break from league action until Saturday, January 17th. For a report and video highlights package from Nenagh Ormond’s win over Blackrock College please click here.

Tipperary sides also recorded four wins in the Munster Junior League. In division one the three Tipp sides won away from home - Kilfeacle & District beat Clonakilty 31-21, Clanwilliam saw off Cobh Pirates (10-5) and Clonmel won at Galbally 14-0. Meanwhile in division two Thurles RFC beat Crosshaven 10-8 at home.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.