Search our Archive


Clonmel RFC make history by topping Munster league for entire year

Clonmel RFC make history by topping Munster league for entire year

Clonmel   maintained their position at top of the Munster Junior League with a very hard fought win 14-0 away to Galbally. 

In doing so they created their own piece of sporting history by being the only Junior team to top the Munster Junior League for the duration of a full calendar year and  are also unbeaten in the league this season.

The home side dominated the early exchanges with the Clonmel backs making the odd break into the Galbally half.

The game was developing into a dour forward battle. Clonmel however had the edges in the scrums which they put into good effect in the 20th minute pushing over the opposition line for David O’Gorman to get the touchdown. Brian lonergan, who was making his seasonal debut at outhalf, converted. 

The uncompromising forward battle continued throughout the second quarter with Neville Melbourne, Ronan Crosse and John Gallagher making some decisive carries.

In the last five minutes the game became very physical but our backs  and forwards defended bravely to leave the score 7-0 at  halftime.

 In the third quarter  the game developed into a stalemate with each side trying to gain the upperhand and spark the game into life. 

Clonmel failed to take advantage of the hill and the breeze. Anytime they got an opportunity Galbally fought back and Clonmel were forced to defend their line. 

As the game moved into injury time the Clonmel forwards and backs combined well to give Keelan McDonald an opportunity  to score a fine try under the posts to leave the score 14-0

             One of the  features of the game was Clonmel’s  ability to defend and keep their discipline in a feisty and physical contest. 

They remain  top of the Munster Junior League going into the Christmas break with Newcastle West just one point behind.

             Clonmel: David O’Gorman .Joe Keane. Billy Kelly. Brendan Lawlor. Ronan Crosse,        Neville Melbourne. John Gallagher, Tony Cantwell, Capt, Dean Slattery. Brian      Lonergan, Keelan McDonald, Robbie Carroll, Luke Hogan, Paul Denn and Darren Cass.

Replacements: Mark Corby, Niall Campion, Ciaran Burke, Luke Noonan, Diarmuid Devaney, Conor Tobin.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.