Search our Archive


Thurles Sarsfields claim under-21A hurling title for the fourth time in five years

Thurles Sarsfields claim under-21A hurling title for the fourth time in five years

Thurles Sarsfields' Cathal Moloney and Tom Tierney celebrate at The Ragg. Photo: Eamonn McGee

Thurles claimed a fourth county under-21A hurling championship title in five years at The Ragg on Sunday afternoon when the Sarsfields beat Toomevara 2-16 to 2-11.

The Greyhounds pushed the defending champions all the way. Indeed, the sides were tied at the break (1-8 to 2-5) thanks to an Alan Ryan goal for Toome.

The sides were tied, once more, entering the final quarter before a Conor Stakelum goal presented Sarsfields with the platform to push on and win this entertaining affair. Thurles, however, had goalkeeper Willie Tierney to thank for two critical second half saves.

Meanwhile Gortnahoe-Glengoole won the replayed final of the Tipperary Water County Under-21B Hurling Championship at Holycross when seeing off Ballinahinch-Templederry on a 0-18 to 0-15 scoreline.

Don’t miss this week’s Tipperary Star for detailed reports from both finals.


There were mixed results for the Munster inter-provincial teams in Sunday’s semi-finals - the hurlers beat Ulster with fifteen points to spare while the footballers lost their clash with Ulster by eight.

On Sunday in Semple Stadium, Thurles Séamus Callanan inspired an Anthony Daly-managed Munster to a 3-21 to 0-15 hurling win while in Parnell Park, Dublin Ulster beat Munster 3-17 to 1-15 in a footballing encounter.

The fixtures details for the hurling final against Leinster remain to be confirmed, but it is rumoured that the decider may take place on Thursday, December 15th in Semple Stadium, Thurles or O’Moore Park, Portlaoise.

Similarly in Parnell Park, Dublin it was reported that less than one hundred spectators turned up to see Munster take on Ulster. In the game Peter Harte starred for an Ulster team who proved far too strong for Munster. Indeed, Ulster led 2-9 to 0-6 at the break.

Tipperary’s James Barry, Michael Breen, Dan McCormack, John O’Dwyer, Séamus Callanan and Pádraic Maher all featured on the Munster hurling team while Evan Comerford, Alan Campbell, Conor Sweeney, Brian Fox, Michael Quinlivan and Ciarán Kenrick all played a part for the Munster football team.


Michael Ryan, John McGrath and Jake Morris were honoured for their respective contributions to Tipperary's 2016 hurling season at an awards ceremony hosted by the Munster Council in the Rochestown Park Hotel, Cork on Saturday night.

The 2016 Munster GAA award winners - hurling hall of fame: Charlie McCarthy (Cork), football hall of fame: John Quane (Limerick), special service award: Micheál Mac Conmara (An Clár), under-21 football: Michael Hurley (Cork), under-21 hurling: Austin Gleeson (Waterford), intermediate hurling: David Conroy (Clare), junior football: Jamie Lee (Limerick), minor hurling: Jake Morris (Tipperary), minor football: David Clifford (Kerry), Camogie: Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick), ladies football: Rena Buckley (Cork), handball: Aishling O’Keeffe (Cork), club: Ballyea (Clare), senior hurling: John McGrath (Tipperary), senior football: Paul Geaney (Kerry) and manager: Michael Ryan (Tipperary).


Tipperary are among the twelve nominees in contention for the 2016 RTÉ Sports Team of the Year award - the RTÉ Sport Awards will be broadcast live on RTÉ One on Saturday, December 17th at 9pm.

The 2016 nominees in full are: the Connacht rugby team, the Cork ladies footballers, the Dublin footballers, the Dundalk soccer team, Ireland’s Paralympic cycling team, Ireland’s Paralympic athletics team, the Ireland rugby team, the Kilkenny Camogie team, the Northern Ireland soccer team, the O’Donovan brothers (Paul and Gary, rowing), the Republic of Ireland soccer team and the Tipperary hurling team.


Tipperary South & District League champions St Michael’s shipped a dramatic extra-time defeat at the hands of a determined Abbeyfeale United side on Sunday afternoon in a thrilling Munster League Champions Trophy final at The Demesne, Newcastle West (2-3).

After a campaign which featured wins over Riverside Athletic (West Cork League), Carrick United (Waterford & District League) and Carew Park (Limerick District League) St Michael’s were made favourites to win this provincial title, but James Walsh’s side encountered an Abbeyfeale United side who had little interest in playing the role of the willing victim. St Michael’s showed flashes of what they are capable of, but did not consistently dominate this contest. Indeed, the Saints will have to improve significantly should they wish to get the better of Usher Celtic (Dublin) in the fifth round of the FAI Junior Cup on December 18th.

For a full report on this game please click here.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.