Search our Archive


Inter-provincial hurling final fixed for Thursday night in Thurles

Inter-provincial hurling final fixed for Thursday night in Thurles

Tipperary's Séamus Callanan is set to star for Munster on Thursday.

Semple Stadium, Thurles will host the inter-provincial hurling final between Munster and Leinster on Thursday, December 15th (7.45pm).

There were mixed results for the Munster inter-provincial teams in Sunday’s semi-finals - the hurlers beat Ulster with fifteen points to spare while the footballers lost their clash with Ulster by eight.

Both games were scheduled to take place on Saturday, but were postponed as a mark of respect to Ulster official Danny Murphy who passed away last week.

On Sunday in Semple Stadium, Thurles Séamus Callanan inspired an Anthony Daly-managed Munster to a 3-21 to 0-15 hurling win while in Parnell Park, Dublin Ulster beat Munster 3-17 to 1-15 in a footballing encounter.

A crowd estimated at less than one hundred turned out in Semple Stadium for the hurling contest on Sunday afternoon. A goal in the first half from Michael Breen set the Munster men on the road to victory and Munster led 1-10 to 0-7 at the break while Séamus Callanan struck for the second three-pointer in the 40th minute.

Tipperary’s James Barry, Michael Breen, Dan McCormack, John O’Dwyer, Séamus Callanan and Pádraic Maher all featured on the Munster team.


Munster: Anthony Nash (Cork), Barry Coughlan (Waterford), James Barry (Tipperary), Noel Connors (Waterford), Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick, 0-1), Cian Dillon (Clare), Shane Fives (Waterford), Michael Breen (Tipperary, 1-1), Jamie Barron (Waterford), Shane Dowling (Limerick, 0-1), Shane Bennett (Waterford, 0-1), Dan McCormack (Tipperary, 0-1), John O’Dwyer (Tipperary, 0-2), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary, 1-7, 0-6 frees), David Reidy (Clare, 0-1). Subs: (25th) Aaron Shanagher (Clare) for Dowling, (25th) Barry Nash (Limerick, 0-4) for Shane Bennett, (HT) Tom Murnane (Kerry, 0-1) for Barron, (HT) Pádraic Maher (Tipperary, 0-1) for Fives, (HT) Stephen Bennett (Waterford, 1-0) for McCormack, (45th) Shane Dowling (Limerick) for O’Dwyer, (45th) Shane Bennett (Waterford) for Reidy, (51st), Dan McCormack (Tipperary) for Breen, (55th) Shane Fives (Waterford) for Coughlan, (55th) Jamie Barron (Waterford) for Dillon.

Ulster: Stephen Keith (Down), Simon McCrory (Antrim), Paddy Burke (Antrim), John McManus (Down), Neal McAuley (Antrim), Conor Woods (Down, 0-1), Caolan Taggart (Down), Eoghan Campbell (Antrim), Ciarán Johnston (Antrim), Conor Corvan (Armagh, 0-3), Niall McKenna (Antrim, 0-1), Danny Toner (Down), Conor Johnston (Antrim), John Dillon (Antrim), Ciarán Clarke (Antrim, 0-7, 0-6 frees). Subs: (26th) Conor O’Prey (Down, 0-2, 0-1 frees) for Ciarán Johnston, (33rd) Danny Cullen (Donegal, 0-1) for Toner, (46th) John Corvan (Armagh) for Taggart, (47th) Alan Grant (Derry) for C Corvan, (49th) Paddy Henry (Derry) for Conor Johnston, (52nd) Chrissy O’Connell (Antrim) for Keith, (52nd) Connor Devlin (Armagh) for Dillon, (55th) Stephen Renaghan (Armagh) for Cullen, (56th) Ciarán Johnston (Antrim) for J McManus.

Referee: Seán Cleere (Kilkenny).


Similarly in Parnell Park, Dublin it was reported that less than one hundred spectators turned up to see Munster take on Ulster.

In the game Peter Harte starred for an Ulster team who proved far too strong for Munster. Indeed, Ulster led 2-9 to 0-6 at the break.


Tipperary’s Evan Comerford, Alan Campbell, Conor Sweeney, Brian Fox, Michael Quinlivan and Ciarán Kenrick all played a part for Munster.

Munster: Evan Comerford (Tipperary), Kevin Hartnett (Clare), Alan Campbell (Tipperary), Tomás O’Gorman (Waterford), Ian Corbett (Waterford, 0-2), Conor Dorman (Cork), Colm O’Driscoll (Cork), Gary Brennan (Clare, 0-1), Aidan O’Mahony (Kerry), Jamie Malone (Clare, 1-0), Paul Whyte (Waterford, 0-4, 0-3 frees), Kevin O’Driscoll (Cork), Eoin Cleary (Clare), Tommy Walsh (Kerry, 0-1), Conor Sweeney (Tipperary, 0-1 frees). Subs: (20th) David Tubridy (Clare, 0-3) for Cleary, (20th) Patrick Hurney (Waterford) for Sweeney, (28th) Brian Fox (Tipperary, 0-1) for K O’Driscoll, (29th black card) Darragh Treacy (Limerick) for O’Mahony, (HT) Ruairí Deane (Cork, 0-1) for Brennan, (HT) Keelan Sexton (Clare, 0-1) for Whyte, (39th) Brennan for Malone, (44th) K O’Driscoll for Walsh, (50th) Sweeney for Hurney, (54th) Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary) for Treacy, (59th) Ciarán Kenrick (Tipperary) for Comerford.

Ulster: Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Darren O’Hagan (Down), Killian Clarke (Cavan), Michael Jones (Fermanagh), Tiernan McCann (Tyrone), Conor Moynagh (Cavan), Aidan Breen (Fermanagh, 1-0), Eoin Donnelly (Fermanagh), Charlie Vernon (Armagh), Kevin Niblock (Antrim), Peter Harte (Tyrone, 1-8, 1-4 frees), Enda Lynn (Derry, 1-0), Stefan Campbell (Armagh, 0-5), Conor McAliskey (Tyrone), Tomás Corrigan (Fermanagh, 0-4, 0-2 frees). Subs: (38th) Mark Bradley (Tyrone) for McAliskey, (43rd) Ryan Johnston (Down) for Lynn, (43rd) Niall Sludden (Tyrone) for Moynagh, (46th) Tony Kernan (Armagh) for Niblock, (50th) Declan McCusker (Fermanagh) for McCann, (59th) Gerard McGovern (Down) for Jones, (60th) McAliskey for Bradley, (62nd) C Snow (Fermanagh) for Morgan.

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.