Search our Archive


Brendan Maher captains Munster to dramatic inter-provincial final victory

Brendan Maher captains Munster to dramatic inter-provincial final victory

Munster captain Brendan Maher pictured accepting the cup from GAA President Aogán Ó Fearghail and Munster Council Chairman Jerry O’Sullivan. Photo: Eamonn McGee

Borris-Ileigh’s Brendan Maher captained Munster to a dramatic inter-provincial final victory over Leinster at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Thursday night - Clare’s Anthony Daly guided Munster to a 46th provincial crown.

Leinster led 1-11 to 0-10 at the interval and appeared in control in front of 592 spectators at three different junctures during the second half when leading with five points to spare. Munster, however, finished like a train and fired 1-5 without reply to win by a comfortable four (2-20 to 2-16). Clare’s Aaron Shanagher notched the key goal for Munster.

Tipperary’s Darren Gleeson (Portroe), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), Michael Breen (Ballina), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch) and Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) all played a significant role in this provincial success (a title last won in 2013).

Séamus Callanan drilled over early points as Munster raced into a 0-4 to no-score lead, but a TJ Reid-inspired Leinster responded well and the sides were locked at 0-6 apiece entering the second quarter. A Dan McCormack brace edged Munster back in front, but Leinster replied with 1-3 to surge clear with TJ Reid burying the three-pointer.

Leinster found themselves four ahead at the break (1-11 to 0-10) and soon led by five, but Munster responded well to the challenge and when Clare’s David Reidy buried an equalising goal mid-way through the second half it appeared as if a significant shift in momentum had occurred (1-14 apiece).

Within a minute, however, Wexford’s Lee Chin booted home a second Leinster goal.

Munster, though, were not easily discouraged and steadied with substitutes like Cork’s Alan Cadogan (0-3) and Limerick’s Barry Nash (0-2) firing over rousing points. Waterford’s Stephen Bennett forced Munster into a late lead before an Aaron Shanagher goal propelled the home side into an unassailable advantage.


Munster: Darren Gleeson (Tipperary), Barry Coughlan (Waterford), James Barry (Tipperary), Noel Connors (Waterford), Diarmuid Byrnes (Limerick, 0-1), Cian Dillon (Clare), Pádraic Maher (Tipperary), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Jamie Barron (Waterford, 0-1), Dan McCormack (Tipperary, 0-2), Michael Breen (Tipperary, 0-1), Shane Bennett (Waterford), John O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Séamus Callanan (Tipperary, 0-7, 0-4 frees, 0-1 ‘65s), David Reidy (Clare, 1-2). Subs: (HT) Noel McGrath (Tipperary) for Shane Bennett, (HT) Alan Cadogan (Cork, 0-3) for Brendan Maher, (HT) Barry Nash (Limerick, 0-2) for Dan McCormack, (50th) Aaron Shanagher (Clare. 1-0) for Michael Breen, (50th) Shane Dowling (Limerick) for John O’Dwyer (Tipperary), (51st) Stephen Bennett (Waterford, 0-1) for Jamie Barron, (55th) Shane Fives (Waterford) for Barry Coughlan, (55th) Tom Murnane (Kerry) for Cian Dillon, (61st) Cian Lynch (Limerick) for Séamus Callanan.

Leinster: James Dempsey (Offaly), Matthew Whelan (Laois), Tommy Doyle (Westmeath), Liam Ryan (Wexford), Pádraig Walsh (Kilkenny), Kieran Joyce (Kilkenny), Chris Crummey (Dublin), Conor Fogarty (Kilkenny), Seán Ryan (Offaly), Walter Walsh (Kilkenny, 0-4), Lee Chin (Wexford, 1-1), Charles Dwyer (Laois, 0-2), Shane Dooley (Offaly, 0-1), TJ Reid (Kilkenny, 1-6, 0-4 frees), Gerry Keegan (Kildare, 0-2). Subs: (27th) Martin Kavanagh (Carlow) for Shane Dooley, (HT) Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny) for Gerry Keegan, (46th) Gerry Keegan for Seán Ryan.

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.