Search our Archive

Rockwell College girls into Munster football semi-final

Rockwell College girls into Munster football semi-final

Kate Barlow, Aoife O'Shaughnessy and Roisin Finnane were on the Rockwell College team that qualified for the Munster semi-final.


Rockwell College are throughto the Munster Senior Ladies Gaelic football semi final following a 4-13 to 2-3 win over Spanish Point in the quarter final.

Rockwell, comprising a number of inter county players, are looking confidently forward in this competition. Played in St. Patrick’s G.A.A. club in Limerick, Rockwell played against a slight breeze in the first half.

Laura Morrissey won the throw in and tapped the ball back to Kate Barlow who delivered into Laura Stocksborough, and she duly rattled the net.

Two minutes later Laura also added a point. Spanish Point now showed some intricate passing moves to score one goal and four points without reply.

Roisin Finnane and Laura Stocksborough, showing deft skills,  dominated the half and full forward lines, scoring a goal and five points, with another coming from Eilish Kennedy, to leave the half time score at 2-7 to 1-3 in favour of Rockwell.

Rockwell took control of the second half with Finnane and  Stocksborough in full flow.

When Spanish Point were able to launch attacks they were dispossessed by a very resilient and dour Rockwell defence of Aoife O’Shaughnessy, Niamh Walsh and Claire Hickey.

Once Rockwell had built up a head of steam it was difficult for Spanish Point to break through, particularly with Laura Morrissey and Kate Barlow tracking back. The match ended as a contest midway through the second half

Rockwell: O. Cashman (Cahir), O. Noonan (St. Patrick’s), N. Walsh (Brian Boru’s), C. Hickey (Cahir), M. Faulkner (Commercials), A. O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan), M. Whelan (Moyle Rovers), L.Morrissey (Brian Borus), K. Barlow (Commercials), E. Kennedy (Brian Borus) 0-1, R. Finnane (Galtee Rovers) 2-5, E. O’Sullivan (Galtee Rovers) ,N. Kennedy (Brian Borus), L. Stocksborough (Fethard) 2-6, L. Murphy (Fethard).

Subs: S. Whelan (Moyle Rovers), L. Holohan (Moylr Rovers) 0-1, E. Walsh (Cahir), A.O’Connor (Fethard).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.