Search our Archive


Our Lady's need your support for key Croke Cup clash in Portlaoise

Our Lady’s prepare to face Kilkenny CBS at Kilmallock

Our Lady’s Templemore - the Dr Harty Cup champions. Photo: Eamonn McGee

The clash between Our Lady's Templemore and CBS Kilkenny in the Masita-sponsored post-primary schools All-Ireland senior A colleges hurling semi-final (Croke Cup) has been fixed for Wednesday, March 15th in O'Moore Park, Portlaoise at 2pm. And, the Our Lady's lads need your support for this key fixture.

The Our Lady’s Templemore team, who so famously won the Dr Harty Cup final when beating St Colman’s College Fermoy by nineteen points (2-22 to 1-6), were scheduled to return to action on Saturday at Fitzgerald Park, Kilmallock.

The Limerick venue was scheduled to host an attractive All-Ireland semi-final double header, but a decision was taken to postpone both games on Thursday.

On Monday, March 13th the authorities announced the venues for the rearranged semi-finals - St Kieran's College (the reigning All-Ireland champions) will take on St Brigid's of Loughrea in Tullamore on Wednesday at 2pm while at the same Portlaoise will host the clash between CBS Kilkenny and Munster champions Our Lady's.

The final is scheduled to take place in Semple Stadium, Thurles on Saturday, March 25th.

CBS Kilkenny lost the Leinster colleges final to St Kieran's College - CBS led 0-7 to 0-4 at the interval and although the CBS side was inspired by captain Niall Brassil St Kieran’s won 1-14 to 0-13.

In their respective quarter-final CBS Kilkenny beat Presentation Athenry (3-9 to 0-15) on March 8th in Abbotstown, Dublin to book a date with Our Lady’s Templemore.

At the break Athenry led that encounter by three (1-3 to 0-9), but Kilkenny CBS made a storming start to the second half and never looked back.

Seán Bolger scored a vital goal for Kilkenny CBS in the opening minute before Seán Boyd notched a third three-pointer in the 43rd.

Mathew Ruth, who won four senior All-Ireland titles with Kilkenny, manages the CBS team and can call on excellent players like Seán Bolger, team captain Niall Brassil and Liam Stynes.


Liam Kearns' football team, following their eight-point win over Longford on Saturday, face a struggling Offaly side in O'Connor Park, Tullamore on Sunday, March 19th (2pm).

Tipperary have encountered Offaly in four of the last six league seasons. Indeed, Tipp strode toward a five-point win (2-11 to 0-12) in 2016 at Seán Treacy Park.


Next up for Michael Ryan's Tipperary team is their final group game during the league phase of the Allianz National Hurling League against the Rebels on Sunday, March 26th (3pm) in Páirc Uí Rinn, Cork.

Tipperary have already won division 1A and qualified for the quarter-finals of the competition where they will face Laois, Kerry or Offaly on the week-ending Sunday, April 2nd.


The Our Lady’s Templemore team which beat St Colman’s Fermoy so famously in the recent Dr Harty Cup final at Páirc na nGael, Limerick: Eoin Collins (Drom & Inch), Seán Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), Páraic Campion (Drom & Inch), Eoghan Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney), Neil Quinlan (JK Bracken’s), Paddy Cadell (JK Bracken’s, captain), Aidan O’Meara (Drom & Inch), Diarmuid Ryan (Clonakenny), Stevie Nolan (Drom & Inch), David O’Shea (JK Bracken’s), Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Jerry Kelly (Borris-Ileigh), Andrew Ormonde (JK Bracken’s), Ray McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Bracken’s). Subs: Shane Doyle (JK Bracken’s), Jack Ryan (Toomevara), Jason Gilmartin (Roscrea), Gearóid O’Connor (Moyne) & Delacy Byrne (Clonakenny).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.