Search our Archive


Minor and under-17 Tipperary footballers count down to key games

Minor and under-17 Tipperary footballers count down to key games

Paul Devlin pictured in action for the Tipperary under-17 football team at Semple Stadium, Thurles. Photo: Eamonn McGee

The Tipperary minor and under-17 football teams are counting down this week to key games in their respective Munster championship campaigns - on Wednesday, April 26th the minor football team travel to Cusack Park, Ennis (throw-in 6.30pm) for a play-off while on Tuesday, May 2nd the under-17 football team are away to Kerry at Austin Stack Park, Tralee (7pm) in a Munster semi-final.

The management team which guides the fortunes of both the under-17 and minor football teams this season is: manager Matt Doherty (Arravale Rovers), coach-selector David Power (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), coach-selector Mick O’Sullivan (Drom & Inch) and selectors Johnny Nevin (JK Bracken's) and Dónal Hayes (Upperchurch-Drombane).

And, the Tipperary management team have their work cut out to rouse the Tipperary minor panel following the 1-8 to 3-21 quarter-final defeat suffered at the hands of Cork on April 12th at Semple Stadium, Thurles. The prize for the victor on Wednesday is a spot in the semi-finals against Limerick on May 10th.

The Tipperary team which started the quarter-final against Cork was: Jack Dolan (Fethard), Jack Harney (Moyle Rovers, joint-captain), Stephen Grogan (Cahir), John Ryan (Boherlahan-Dualla), Ríain Quigley (Moyle Rovers), Paul Devlin (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill), Éanna McBride (JK Bracken's), Conall Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Jake Flannery (Galtee Rovers, joint-captain), Diarmuid Mulcahy (Moyle Rovers), Shane Ryan (Galtee Rovers), Calvin Boland (Clonmel Commercials), Mark Stokes (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Ryan Lambe (Clonmel Commercials), Darragh Tynan (Inane Rovers).

Meanwhile the under-17 team made an encouraging start to their respective campaign when earning a four-point quarter-final win over Clare (0-14 to 0-10) at Semple Stadium.

The Tipperary under-17 the which started against Clare was: Cian Quinn (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Diarmuid Mulcahy (Moyle Rovers, captain), Dara O’Leary (Ardfinnan), Manus McFadden (Grangemockler-Ballyneale), John Ryan (Boherlahan-Dualla), Paul Devlin (Éire Óg Annacarty), Éanna McBride (JK Bracken’s), Stephen Grogan (Cahir), Mark Stokes (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Ian Holloway (Carrick Swan), Rian Quigley (Moyle Rovers), Conor Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney), Adam McGrath (Galtee Rovers), Cian O’Sullivan (Clonmel Óg), Darragh Tynan (Roscrea).

Should Tipperary prevail against Kerry the under-17 Munster final is scheduled to take place on Tuesday, May 16th.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.