Crucial Harty Cup clash between CBS Thurles and Nenagh CBS postponed until December 6th

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Crucial Harty Cup clash between CBS Thurles and Nenagh CBS postponed until December 6th

The crucial Dr Harty Cup third round clash between CBS Thurles and Nenagh CBS has been postponed until Wednesday, December 6th - the winner of that contest will progress to the quarter-finals. Meanwhile the Our Lady’s Templemore game against St Flannan’s Ennis will go ahead as scheduled on Wednesday, November 15th at MacDonagh Park, Nenagh (throw-in 1.30pm).

Following successive wins the Nenagh CBS lads top their group with four points (+6 scoring difference) while CBS Thurles (+21) and Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh, Cork (-) are joint-second on two. With Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh expected to record a big win over Doon in round three the clash between Nenagh CBS and CBS Thurles essentially represents a winner-takes-all affair (the top two in the group progress to the quarter-finals).

CBS Thurles got their Dr Harty Cup campaign back on track at St Patrick’s, Limerick in the second round of the group stage recently when recording a 22-point win (4-19 to 0-9) over Scoil Na Trioníode, Doon - CBS Thurles lost the opening round of the competition to Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh (1-12 to 0-16).

Nenagh CBS got their campaign off to an encouraging start in Newport when beating Scoil Na Trioniode, Doon 2-21 to 3-13 in the opening round of the Dr Harty Cup group stage before seeing off the challenge of Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh, Cork.

Meanwhile Our Lady's Templemore booked their place in the quarter-finals with a game to spare thanks to a 32-point win over Castletroy College in round two of the group phase at MacDonagh Park, Nenagh. Sadly, this contest turned into a procession of scores as the Limerick outfit struggled to contain the defending champions (6-27 to 1-10).

Our Lady’s won their opening round contest against Christian Brothers College, Cork (1-15 to 2-11) and will face into the third round against St Flannan’s, Ennis knowing that they have already secured their place in the knock-out stages.

The quarter-finals of the competition are scheduled to take place on January 10th, semi-finals on January 27th and the final on February 17th. The All-Ireland colleges A hurling quarter-finals are fixed for March 3rd, semi-finals for March 19th and the Croke Cup final for March 31st 2018.

Our Lady’s, of course, beat St Colman’s College (2-22 to 1-6) in the 2017 Dr Harty Cup final at Páirc na nGael, Limerick and duly ended a 39-year wait to win back the coveted trophy. CBS Thurles have won the title eight times (last in 2015) and Our Lady’s have won it twice while Nenagh CBS have never claimed the prestigious provincial title.


Noel Fogarty and Tom Byrnes, the joint-managers of the Templemore team which won 2017 Croke Cup thanks to a final win over the famed St Kieran’s College, have returned to guide the fortunes of Our Lady’s this year. The CBS Thurles team is managed by Eamon Buckley, Patrick McCormack, Theo Lloyd and Pierce Murphy while David O’Neill, Phillip Hickey and John Flannery take responsibility for the Nenagh CBS side.


The 2017-18 Our Lady’s Templemore Dr Harty Cup panel reads as follows: Eoin Collins, Fintan Purcell, Aaron Ryan, Rory O’Dwyer, Gearóid O’Connor, Shane Lowe, Dean Lawlor, Seán Hayes, Éanna McBride, Darragh Doyle, Nick Keane, Shane Doyle, Michael Egan-O’Brien, Andrew Ormond, Denis Russell, Jack Prout, Tadhg Nolan, Ciarán Byrne, Lorcan Roche, Jack Ryan, Stephen Frend, Thomas Farrell, Seán Ryan, Kevin Maher, James Devaney, Lorcan Campion, John Ryan, John Campion, Jimmy Mullen, Jamie Ryan, Paul Glasheen, Jack Shanahan, Ben Stapleton, Conor McGrath, Michael O’Connell and Darragh Nolan.


The 2017-18 CBS Thurles Dr Harty Cup panel reads as follows: Patrick O’Dwyer, Donnacha Quirke, Nathan Slattery, Gearóid Troy, Jack Hickey, Killian Cullinane, Colm Smith, Killian Hayde, Frank Hanafin, Bryan O’Mara, Eoin Morris, James Ryan, Michael Nally, Patrick McGrath, Ciarán O’Dwyer, Devon Ryan, Ciarán Connolly, Darren Flood, Jack Fallon, Jack Morrissey, Kevin Hayes, Max Hackett, Peter Melbourne, Rory Darmody, Zach Jackson, Ciarán Kirwan, Aidan Scott, Conor Bowe, Jack Taylor, Kieran Larkin, James Synott, Luke Cashin, Jack Lee, Brian McCabe, Aaron Ryan, Stephen Carr, Chris Egan, Barry McGrath, Christopher Carew, Daniel Moloney, Eoin Purcell, Jack Lanigan, Liam Power, Dylan Costello, Kevin Bracken, Patrick Bowden, Rory Fogarty, Seán Butler, Conor Fahey, Denis Ryan, Keith Ryan and Éanna Ryan.


The 2017-18 Nenagh CBS Dr Harty Cup panel reads as follows: Liam Hayes, Ronan Ducie, John McGrath, Bryan McLoughney, Daniel Molamphy, Seán Phelan, Rory O’Donovan, Seán Shanahan, Conor McCarthy, Fiachra Starr, Peter Folan, Stephen Hallinan, Cian O Brien, Mark Ryan, Conor Hennessy, Michael Grace, Seán Spillane, Joe Keyes, Darragh McKelvey, Eoin Gleeson, Darragh Nolan, Oisín Murphy, Paul Slattery, Ronan Clifford, Eoin Power, Darragh Spillane, Kevin McCarthy, Conor Grace, Diarmuid Boyle, Sam Madden, Conor O’Brien, Kian O’Kelly, Mark O’Neill, Ben Cooney, Stephen Kirwan, Tim Flaherty and Conor Bourke.


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.