Tipperary hurlers pack their bags for the AIG Fenway Classic in Boston

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell



Tipperary hurlers pack their bags for the AIG Fenway Classic in Boston

Tipperary’s Dáire Quinn pictured alongside his Clare, Galway and Dublin counterparts at the launch of the 2017 AIG Fenway Classic earlier this year.

Michael Ryan’s Tipperary hurlers will this week pack their bags ahead of the AIG Fenway Classic which takes place at Fenway Park, Boston on Sunday, November 19th - the travelling party is expected to depart on Friday, November 17th.

On Sunday Dublin will take on Galway while Tipperary face Clare before the winners progress to the final and compete for the Players Champions Cup - the games will be played in the “Super 11s” format (forty minutes).

All three games will be broadcast live on TG4 - although the opening game (Dublin v Galway) in the competition will throw-in at 12.30pm local time the TG4 coverage will not begin until 5.30pm on Sunday evening. You can expect the semi-final between Clare and Tipperary to air at 6.30pm on TG4 while the final will air at 8pm (3pm Boston local time).

Galway are the defending AIG Fenway Classic champions - in 2015 the Tribesmen beat Dublin in the inaugural exhibition game 50-47.

Tipperary have revealed that the Premier County will participate in the up-coming Munster Senior Hurling League while Michael Ryan’s men will launch their 2018 Allianz National League campaign away to Clare on Sunday, January 28th.

The Tipperary training panel reads as follows: Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Michael Breen (Ballina), Ger Browne (Knockavilla Kickhams), Justin Cahill (Kilruane MacDonagh's), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields), Séamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Seán Curran (Mullinahone), Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonagh's), Paudie Feehan (Killenaule), Alan Flynn (Kiladangan), Jason Forde (Silvermines), Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill), Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy), Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg), Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha), Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Séamus Kennedy (St Mary’s Clonmel), Conor Kenny (Borris-Ileigh), Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh), Donagh Maher (Burgess), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, captain), Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha), Paul Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields), Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Daragh Mooney (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill), Seán Nally (Holycross-Ballycahill), Seán O’Brien (Newport), Joe O'Dwyer (Killenaule), John O'Dwyer (Killenaule), Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonagh's), Dáire Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg), Mark Russell (Lattin-Cullen), Paul Shanahan (Upperchurch-Drombane) and David Sweeney (Kiladangan).