Cashel King Cormacs are Tipperary Junior 'B' Football county champions

Cashel King Cormacs are Tipperary Junior 'B' Football county champions

Cashel captain PJ Mooney.


A first adult county title for Cashel since 2008, as the club’s junior footballers saw off the challenge of neighbours Boherlahan-Dualla in the Tipperary Water county junior football B final at Clonoulty, winning 1-8 to 0-5

Cashel had a six point  advantage at the finish, a reasonable reflection of the pattern of the game but their goal by Lee Burke did not come until deep into injury time.

Though the better team Cashel struggled to put away rivals who refused to accept defeat, and the result was a well-contested if somewhat scrappy contest that was always in the balance until Burke’s late strike.

The Mid champions were industrious and committed but they lacked the confidence of their rivals on the ball and in the first half in particular, wayward shooting in front of goal saw scoring chances spurned.

In fact all of Boherlahan’s scores came from frees and from the very beginning they were at full stretch trying to stay with their rivals.

Cashel went about their business in lively fashion. Their players were willing to support the man in possession and while they too had their shortcomings near goal, their 1-5 from play  underlined their superiority in the all-important  art of notching scores.

The county A championship beckons them next year but they look well equipped to cope with the step-up in quality.

From the start Cashel  called the shots. An early point from Brian Fitzpatrick settled them and James Cummins went close to netting in the 7th minute before Michael Coleman shot their second point in the 11th minute.

The Cashel team pictured with the cup following their win.

Boherlahan had enough of the ball but their use of it left something to be desired. However, in the 19th minute Joe Ryan had their first point from a free and though Robert Whyte responded for Cashel two minutes later, Joe Ryan landed his second point in the 27th minute.

Cashel finished the half strongly. Brian Fitzpatrick sent a shot whizzing over the bar when a goal could as easily have resulted and then in injury time Michael Coleman stretched Cashel’s advantage to 0-5 to 0-2 before referee Tommy Ryan  blew for the break.

Boherlahan needed to raise their game considerably if they were to keep their hopes of a first title in this grade alive but a keenly competitive third  quarter saw no change in the margin separating the sides, Brian Fitzpatrick and Michael Coleman pointing for Cashel, with Joe Ryan  twice converting frees for Boherlahan.

With the differential at three points the possibility of a Boherlahan goal was always on but the Mid men suffered a setback in the last quarter when wingback Niall Manton was black-carded.

A point from a free by Martin Phelan had the lead cut to two points but on the hour Robert Anglim restored Cashel’s three points advantage.

Only a goal would save Boherlahan now but as they pressed forward they left gaps at the back and Cashel exploited this to secure the clinching goal, well-taken by Lee Burke deep in injury time.

The West champions were delighted with this success and will be hoping that this victory will lead to better things next year. Victories at any level are important for club morale and having gone through an extended  barren spell silverware is very welcome.

Cashel were the better balanced side and in Dylan Fitzelle, Michael Coleman, Brian Fitzpatrick, Brian Davern, Ross Bonnar, and David Brennan had players willing to show the way to their colleagues.

Boherlahan-Dualla could have done with a win at county level also but they can have no complaint. They gave everything they had to the contest but  on the day were beaten by a better team. The failure of their forwards to raise a flag from play is not the kind of form that wins championships but they have the Mid crown as their reward for their year’s endeavours.

Seamie Leahy, Oisin Ryan, Fionn McCullagh, Joe Ryan and Colm Dwyer worked very hard in their efforts to tip the scales in their favour.

Cashel scorers – B Fitzpatrick, M Coleman,(0-3 each), L Burke(1-0), R Whyte, R Anglim(0-1 each);

Boherlahan scorers- J Ryan(0-4), M Phelan(0-1);

Cashel King Comracs – Adam Skeffington; John Gaffney, Ciaran Quinn, John Paul Peters; Ross Bonnar, P J Mooney, Brian Davern; James Cummins, David Brennan; Lee Burke, Dylan Fitzelle, Michael Coleman; Robert Anglim, Robert Whyte, Brian Fitzpatrick; Subs- James Maxwell for Whyte; Sean Ryan for Peters; Ronan O Donoghue for Fitzpatrick; Michael Morrissey for Anglim;

Boherlahan-Dualla – Brian Sheehy; Tommy Gayson, Jack Maher, Oisin Ryan; Niall Manton, Fionn McCullagh, Seamie Leahy; Joe Ryan, John Dwyer; James O Sullivan, Colm O Dwyer, Cathal Darcy; James Kirby, Seamus Hickey, Aidan Maher; Subs- Darragh Devane for Hickey; Conor Moloughney for A Maher; Mark Phelan for Kirby; Johnny Maher for Manton(black card), Laurence Hickey for O Sullivan;

Ref- Tommy Ryan,Ballinchinch;