Tipperary hurling stars prepare to sleep rough in solidarity with Ireland's homeless

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell



Brendan Maher

Former Tipperary captain Brendan Maher will sleep rough on December 16th.

A stellar group of current and former inter-county football, hurling and Camogie players have come together and formed an organisation entitled Gaelic Voices for Change - on Saturday, December 16th Gaelic Voices For Change, which features Tipperary’s Séamus Hennessy, Timmy Hammersley, Brendan and Patrick Maher, will sleep rough in order to highlight Ireland’s homelessness crisis.

Following a whole series of meetings over 150 inter-county stars have signed up for a player-led “sleep-out” which will take place in Dublin, Galway, Cork, Limerick, Belfast, Portlaoise, Waterford, Wexford and Carlow this Christmas.

The organisation, which is supported by both the GPA and the WGPA, have revealed publicly that the members are alarmed by ISPCC reports which indicate that Ireland now has the highest rate of child homelessness in Europe. Gaelic Voices for Change aim to support these children and highlight the plight of other vulnerable members of society.

The group are appealing for help with tea and coffee, food, sleeping bags, music and entertainment and in terms of fundraising in each of the sleep-out locations.

All funds raised will go to homeless charities including the Peter McVerry Trust, the Simon Communities, Focus Ireland and the Capuchin Day Centre.

The Gaelic Voices For Change (interim) steering group reads as follows: Séamus Hennessy (Tipperary), Brendan Maher (Tipperary), Eamon Fennell (Dublin), Gemma Begley (Tyrone), Michael Dara McAuley (Dublin), Valerie Mulcahy (Cork), Matt O'Hanlon (Wexford), Carol O'Leary (Clare), Stephen McDonnell (Cork), Diarmuid Lyng (Wexford), Sinéad Finnegan (Dublin), Chloe Morey (Clare), Ronan Conway (Cork), Patrick Maher (Tipperary), Pat Nolan (Roscommon), David McGovern (Leitrim), Timmy Hammersley (Tipperary), Valerie Mulcahy (Cork), Alan O'Mara (Cavan), Alan Moore (Roscommon), Niall McGovern (Dublin), Eamon Murphy (Kildare), Shane Nolan (Louth) and Gerry Spollen (Offaly).

The group can be followed on Twitter @gaelicvoices4ch and you can also like the group on Facebook.


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.