Clonoulty Rossmore win West Tipperary under 21 'A' hurling championship title

Clonoulty Rossmore win West Tipperary under 21 'A' hurling championship title

At the presentation - James Brennan (Son of Tony Brennan), John O'Shea (West Board Chairman), James Ryan (Clonoulty/R Captain), Matt Ryan (O'Dwyer Steel)



Clonoulty/Rossmore claimed their 20th O’Dwyer Steel West U21A Hurling Championship title in their own right on Saturday when they accounted for Cashel King Cormacs, 2-16 to 2-7.

The game took place in Bansha and was played in dull misty cold conditions. It was the eighth final meeting between the sides with Clonoulty/Rossmore claiming the last five against the same opposition. Cashel King Cormacs looking for their first title in the grade since 1992 and a first final victory over their opposition since 1983.

Clonoulty/Rossmore looked determined from the off and quickly opened up a three point lead through Cathal Bourke, Michael Ryan W and Padraig Carew, all points coming from play.

Clonoulty/R were dominating in all areas of the field. James Hammersley added a further point from play before Dillon Quirke got the game’s opening goal after he pulled first time on the ground following a scramble near the goalmouth. Cashel’s chances were few and far between but what ones they did get they failed to convert.

Nathan Slattery and Dillon Quirke added further points for Clonoulty/R as they led 1-6 to 0-0 after the first quarter.

The Clonoulty-Rossmore team that won the title.

Slowly Cashel started to find a rhythm and Conn Bonnar opened their account with a point from play. Jonathan Walsh found his radar from two placed balls as Cashel went about cutting the deficit.

Ross Bonnar looked to be in on goal but he was stalled by the Clonoulty/R defence. Eoghan Connolly got his first point with a long range effort as it was now Cashel who were directing the scoreboard.

That said any high balls that were sent in or shots that dropped off were well dealt with by the Clonoulty/R defence in particular the two Heffernans Ronan and Enda.

Cathal Bourke steadied the Clonoulty men with their first point in fourteen minutes. Eoghan Connolly though quickly responded with his second at the other end. Michael Ryan W was proving a handful anytime the sliotar was sent in to him and his pace gave him a big advantage as he hit two further points just before the break either side of a Jonathan Walsh sixty five. Clonoulty/Rossmore leading at the interval 1-9 to 0-6.

Clonoulty/Rossmore added further points in the opening five minutes of the second half from Cathal Bourke (free) and Odhran Quirke. Both sides struggled to put a foothold on the game and the next score of the game did not arrive till the nineteenth minute.

Colin Ryan did bring a great save out of David Egan in the Clonoulty/R goal. Cathal Bourke breaking the drought with two points in a minute, both from play. Cashel needed a lifeline and Johnathan Walsh got their first score of the half with eight minutes remaining as he blasted a thunderbolt of a shot past David Egan following a great run and layoff by Ross Bonnar. Eoghan Connolly pointed and now found a new voice. It didn’t last long and Nathan Slattery collected the sliotar at the other end following a ruck and he raised a green flag. Cathal Bourke pointed from a place ball with the clock now in the red. James Hammersley quickly followed with one from play as Clonoulty/R were now well clear. Cashel King Cormacs refused to give up and Conn Bonnar goaled. Dillon Quirke had the final say when he pointed from play before John O’Grady blew for full time.

Best for Clonoulty/Rossmore were Enda and Ronan Heffernan, while Dillon Quirke put in a very strong shift and Michael Ryan W always looked dangerous in possession.

Cashel King Cormacs were best served by Murragh McDermott, Eoghan Connolly, Jonathan Walsh and Ross Bonnar.

Clonoulty/Rossmore claimed their first title in the grade since 2014. Afterwards James Ryan Con collected the Tony Brennan Cup from West Board Chairman John O’Shea in the presence of James Brennan, son of Tony. Also present was Matt Ryan from sponsors O’Dwyer Steel.

Clonoulty/Rossmore: David Egan, Padraig Carew (0-1), Ronan Heffernan, James Ryan Con, Aidan Loughman, Enda Heffernan, Donnacha Quirke, Martin Ryan, Stephen Quinn, Odhran Quirke (0-1), Dillon Quirke (1-2), Cathal Bourke (0-6,(0-3f)), James Hammersley (0-2), Michael Ryan W (0-3), Nathan Slattery (1-1)

Subs Used: Adam Fryday, Nicky Mockler, Dylan Kennedy, Owen Ryan

Cashel King Cormacs: Danny Wade, Pat Muldoon, Ciaran Quinn, Adam Kennedy, Brian Davern, James Cummins, Murragh McDermott, Conn Bonnar (1-1), Eoghan Connolly (0-3), Johnny Walsh (1-3, (0-3f)), Conor Devitt, Paddy Fahy , Ross Bonnar, Colin Ryan, Colm Hayde

Subs Used: Ciaran Davern, Paraic Donoghue

Referee: John O’Grady (Rosegreen)