Dr Harty Cup: Our Lady’s and Thurles CBS now know their opponents in the last eight

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell



Dr Harty Cup: Our Lady’s and Thurles CBS now know their opponents in the last eight

Our Lady’s Templemore and Thurles CBS now know their opponents in the last eight of the Dr Harty Cup (under-18.5A Munster colleges hurling championship). Indeed, should both Tipperary schools progress to the semi-finals they will meet one another at that stage of the competition.

Our Lady’s Templemore, the defending champions, will face John The Baptist Community School, Hospital in their quarter-final on Wednesday, January 10th while on the same day Thurles CBS will take on Midleton CBS (the sides will renew rivalry having recently met in the Dean Ryan Cup final). The winners of both quarter-finals will meet in the last four of the prestigious competition. Meanwhile on the other side of the draw Árdscoil Rís, Limerick face Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh, Cork and St Colman’s College, Fermoy take on Christian Brothers College, Cork. The semi-finals are scheduled to take place on January 27th while the final is penciled in for February 17th.

Thurles CBS got their Dr Harty Cup campaign back on track at St Patrick’s, Limerick in the second round of the group stage when recording a 22-point win (4-19 to 0-9) over Scoil Na Trioníode, Doon - Thurles CBS lost the opening round of the competition to Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh, Cork (1-12 to 0-16), but beat Nenagh CBS in third round 2-13 to 2-11 to win their group on scoring difference and duly knock their North Tipperary rivals out of the competition.

Meanwhile Our Lady's Templemore booked their place in the quarter-finals with a game to spare thanks to a 32-point win over Castletroy College in round two of the group phase (6-27 to 1-10). Our Lady’s won their opening round contest against Christian Brothers College, Cork (1-15 to 2-11) and beat St Flannan’s, Ennis in the third round by ten points at MacDonagh Park, Nenagh (2-20 to 1-13).


Sixteen teams have competed in this year’s competition (four groups of four with the top two teams from each group progressing to the quarter-finals). The quarter-finalists are: Árdscoil Rís (Limerick), CBS Midleton (Cork), Our Lady’s Templemore, Christian Brothers College (Cork), St Colman’s College (Cork), John The Baptist Community School (Limerick), Thurles CBS and Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh (Cork).


Árdscoil Rís topped group A with six points and CBS Midleton (four points) join their Limerick counter-parts in the quarter-finals while De La Salle, Waterford (two points) and Charleville CBS (zero) miss out.


CBS Midleton 5-19 Charleville CBS 2-11
Árdscoil Rís, Limerick 0-20 De La Salle, Waterford 0-8
CBS Midleton 1-21 De La Salle, Waterford 0-12
Árdscoil Rís, Limerick 3-23 Charleville CBS 0-9
De La Salle, Waterford 0-14 Charleville CBS 1-10
Árdscoil Rís, Limerick 2-16 CBS Midleton 1-18


Our Lady’s Templemore (six points) dominated group B while Christian Brothers College, Cork were second (four points), St Flannan's, Ennis (two points) were third and Castletroy College (zero) were fourth.


Christian Brothers College, Cork 2-17 St Flannan’s, Ennis 1-11
Our Lady’s Templemore 6-27 Castletroy College 1-9
Our Lady’s Templemore 1-15 Christian Brothers College, Cork 2-11
St Flannan’s, Ennis 2-11 Castletroy College 0-10
Our Lady's Templemore 2-20 St Flannan's, Ennis 1-13
Christian Brothers College, Cork 2-20 Castletroy College 0-9


St Colman’s College, Fermoy have topped group C on six points while John The Baptist Community School in Hospital were second on four points; Blackwater Community School in Lismore were third on two points and Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock finished bottom on zero.


St Colman’s College, Fermoy 3-15 Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock 1-7
John The Baptist Community School, Hospital 3-9 Blackwater Community School, Lismore 1-14
John The Baptist Community School, Hospital 1-16 Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock 0-9
St Colman’s College, Fermoy 0-14 Blackwater Community School, Lismore 0-11
St Colman’s College, Fermoy 3-16 John The Baptist Community School, Hospital 0-10
Blackwater Community School, Lismore 1-17 Coláiste Iosaef, Kilmallock 1-14


Although all three sides completed the group stage of the competition on four points each (two wins apiece) Thurles CBS topped group D thanks to a +23 scoring difference and Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh were second on +12 while Nenagh CBS finished third on +4.


Nenagh CBS 1-15 Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh, Cork 3-8
Thurles CBS 4-19 Scoil na Tríonóide Naofa, Doon 0-9
Nenagh CBS Secondary 2-21 Scoil na Tríonóide Naofa, Doon 3-13
Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh, Cork 0-16 Thurles CBS 1-12
Gaelcholáiste Mhuire Thuaigh, Cork 3-13 Scoil na Tríonóide Naofa, Doon 0-10
Thurles CBS 2-13 Nenagh CBS 2-11


The quarter-finals of the competition are scheduled to take place on January 10th, semi-finals on January 27th and the final on February 17th. The All-Ireland colleges A hurling quarter-finals are fixed for March 3rd, semi-finals for March 19th and the Croke Cup final for March 31st 2018.

Our Lady’s, of course, beat St Colman’s College (2-22 to 1-6) in the 2017 Dr Harty Cup final at Páirc na nGael, Limerick and duly ended a 39-year wait to win back the coveted trophy. Thurles CBS have won the title eight times (last in 2015) and Our Lady’s have won it twice.


Noel Fogarty and Tom Byrnes, the joint-managers of the Templemore team which won 2017 Croke Cup thanks to a final win over the famed St Kieran’s College, have returned to guide the fortunes of Our Lady’s this year. The Thurles CBS team is managed by Eamon Buckley, Patrick McCormack, Theo Lloyd and Pierce Murphy.


The 2017-18 Thurles CBS Dr Harty Cup panel reads as follows: Patrick O’Dwyer, Donnacha Quirke, Nathan Slattery, Gearóid Troy, Jack Hickey, Killian Cullinane, Colm Smith, Killian Hayde, Frank Hanafin, Bryan O’Mara, Eoin Morris, James Ryan, Michael Nally, Patrick McGrath, Ciarán O’Dwyer, Devon Ryan, Ciarán Connolly, Darren Flood, Jack Fallon, Jack Morrissey, Kevin Hayes, Max Hackett, Peter Melbourne, Rory Darmody, Zach Jackson, Ciarán Kirwan, Aidan Scott, Conor Bowe, Jack Taylor, Kieran Larkin, James Synott, Luke Cashin, Jack Lee, Brian McCabe, Aaron Ryan, Stephen Carr, Chris Egan, Barry McGrath, Christopher Carew, Daniel Moloney, Eoin Purcell, Jack Lanigan, Liam Power, Dylan Costello, Kevin Bracken, Patrick Bowden, Rory Fogarty, Seán Butler, Conor Fahey, Denis Ryan, Keith Ryan and Éanna Ryan.


The 2017-18 Our Lady’s Templemore Dr Harty Cup panel reads as follows: Eoin Collins (Drom & Inch), Fintan Purcell (Drom & Inch), Aaron Ryan (Drom & Inch), Rory O’Dwyer (Drom & Inch), Gearóid O’Connor (Moyne-Templetuohy), Shane Lowe (Moyne-Templetuohy), Dean Lawlor (Moyne-Templetuohy), Seán Hayes (Moyne-Templetuohy), Éanna McBride (JK Bracken’s), Darragh Doyle (JK Bracken’s), Nick Keane (JK Bracken’s), Shane Doyle (JK Bracken’s), Michael Egan-O’Brien (JK Bracken’s), Andrew Ormond (JK Bracken’s), Denis Russell (JK Bracken’s), Jack Prout (JK Bracken’s), Tadhg Nolan (JK Bracken’s), Ciarán Byrne (JK Bracken’s), Lorcan Roche (JK Bracken’s), Jack Ryan (Toomevara), Stephen Frend (Toomevara), Thomas Farrell (Toomevara), Seán Ryan (Templederry), Kevin Maher (Borris-Ileigh), James Devaney (Borris-Ileigh), Lorcan Campion (Drom & Inch), John Ryan (Drom & Inch), John Campion (Drom & Inch), Jimmy Mullen (Drom & Inch), Jamie Ryan (Drom & Inch), Paul Glasheen (Drom & Inch), Jack Shanahan (Drom & Inch), Ben Stapleton (Drom & Inch), Conor McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Michael O’Connell (Loughmore-Castleiney) and Darragh Nolan (Loughmore-Castleiney).