Liam Kearns unveils Tipperary panel as football side gear up for league campaign

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Liam Kearns unveils Tipperary panel as football side gear up for league campaign

Robbie Kiely will captain the Tipperary senior football team in 2018 - the Premier County launch their league campaign away to Cork on January 27th.

Senior manager Liam Kearns has named a 36-man panel as the Tipperary football team gears up for the forthcoming Allianz National Football League campaign - Cork are 5/2 favourites to win division two, the Premier County are fifth in the market on 13/2 while Clare and Louth are expected to face the drop.

Tipperary are planning to play a number of challenge matches during the coming weeks while Liam Kearns’ men launch their Allianz National Football League division two campaign away to Cork on Saturday, January 27th in Páirc Uí Chaoimh (throw-in 5pm - the hurling league encounter between the Rebels and Kilkenny also features on the night, that game begins at 7pm).

The Premier County then host Roscommon on February 4th (2pm) before travelling to face Clare on February 11th (2pm). Next up is a home game against Meath on Saturday, February 24th (7pm) before Tipperary host Louth on March 4th (12.30pm). Liam Kearns' men complete the group stage of the 2018 league with trips to Down (March 18th) and Cavan (March 25th). The division two league final is scheduled to take place on April 1st.

Tipperary will face Waterford in a Munster Senior Football Championship quarter-final on May 19th while the winner of that clash will face Cork on June 2nd. The Munster final is fixed for June 23rd. Kerry (1/3) are favoured to win the Munster championship while Tipperary are distinct outsiders (15/2).

The Tipperary senior football management team features Liam Kearns (manager, Kerry), Pascal Kellaghan (coach, Offaly) and selectors Shane Stapleton (coach), Paul Fitzgerald and Brian Lacey. The Tipperary team will, of course, be captained by Robbie Kiely in 2018.


The Tipperary senior football panel reads as follows: Philip Austin (Borrisokane), Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers), Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers), Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers), Seán Carey (Moyle Rovers), Liam Casey (Cahir), Paddy Codd (Killenaule), Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule), Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty), George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers), Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle), Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Ciarán Kenrick (Moyle Rovers), Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers, Cork), Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers), Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials), Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch), Brendan Martin (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), David McGrath (Moyle Rovers), Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney), Stephen Murray (Burgess), Stephen O'Brien (Ballina), Shane O'Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle), Kevin O'Halloran (Portroe), Michael O'Reilly (Clonmel Commercials), Colm O'Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan), Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials), Liam Ryan (Clonmel Commercials), Jody Sheehan (Fethard), Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen) & Liam Treacy (Loughmore-Castleiney).