Fixture details announced for the tenth Tipperary-Kilkenny final meeting in ten years

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


Jason Forde

Jason Forde notched 2-11 in Tipperary’s 2-31 to 1-31 league semi-final victory over Limerick at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Saturday night. Photo: Eamonn McGee

The fixture details have been announced for the Allianz National Hurling League final between Tipperary and Kilkenny - the decider will take place at Nowlan Park, Kilkenny on Sunday, April 8th (3.30pm) and will be preceded by the Littlewoods Ireland National Camogie League division one final between Cork and Kilkenny (1.30pm).

And, the hurling contest will represent the tenth final meeting between Tipperary and Kilkenny in ten years. The Premier County has lost league finals to the Cats in 2009 (2-26 to 4-17), 2013 (2-17 to 0-20) and in 2014 (2-25 to 1-27) and All-Ireland deciders to Kilkenny in 2009 (2-22 to 0-23), in 2011 (2-17 to 1-16) and in 2014 (2-17 to 2-14 following a draw - 3-22 to 1-28) while Tipperary have beaten Kilkenny just twice in All-Ireland finals during the same period in 2010 (4-17 to 1-18) and 2016 (2-29 to 2-20).

Tipperary will be chasing the county’s 20th league title next Sunday, but the Premier County has not collected league honours in ten years (in the 2008 decider Tipp beat Galway 3-18 to 3-16). And, the Tipperary camp should be eager to make up for last season’s embarrassing defeat to the Tribesmen in the decider (0-14 to 3-21).

Kilkenny have won seventeen league titles and were last crowned champions in 2014 at the expense of, you guessed it, Tipperary.


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.