Tipperary ladies football team set to meet Armagh in the league semi-finals

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell



Tipperary ladies football team set to meet Armagh in the league semi-finals

Tipperary inter-county stars Aishling McCarthy and Aisling Moloney.

Shane Ronayne’s Tipperary ladies football team will take on Armagh in the division two semi-finals of the Lidl-sponsored national league on the week-ending Sunday, April 22nd - Waterford and Cavan will meet on their respective side of the last four.

The extraordinary undefeated run of the Tipperary ladies football team came to an end on Sunday at the Waterford Institute of Technology when the Premier County lost to Waterford on a 2-6 to 1-19 scoreline - as a result Tipperary finished second to the Déise in the table on scoring difference. The Tipperary goals were scored by Mairéad Morrissey and Orla O’Dwyer while Shane Ronayne’s side trailed by seven points at the break (1-4 to 1-11).

Previous to Sunday’s encounter Tipperary recorded victories over Armagh (2-12 to 2-10), Laois (5-14 to 1-5), Tyrone (0-12 to 0-9), Cavan (1-13 to 3-4), Sligo (4-19 to 0-7) and Clare (2-12 to 3-7).

Shane Ronayne’s outstanding team will, of course, also have an eye on their up-coming Munster senior championship semi-final clash with the mighty Cork on June 2nd - Waterford take on Kerry on the opposite side of the draw with a place in the provincial final up for grabs.

The Tipperary starting team against Waterford was: Lauren Fitzpatrick, Siobhán Condon, Maria Curley, Emma Buckley, Bríd Condon, Samantha Lambert, Laura Dillon, Niamh Lonergan, Orla O'Dwyer, Kate Davey, Aisling Moloney, Caoimhe Condon, Jennifer Grant, Gillian O'Brien, Róisín Howard.


This season Tipperary senior ladies football manager Shane Ronayne has added Cork’s Anne-Marie Ruby to his management team - Anne-Marie works alongside Elaine Harte and Tony Smith as a selector. Ronan Crosse operates as a physio with the team this season while Cahir’s Alan O’Connor is a key man in the set-up both in terms of skill development and strength and conditioning.


The 2018 Tipperary senior ladies football reads as follows: Siobhán Condon (Aherlow), Bríd Condon (Aherlow), Gráinne Condon (Aherlow), Anna Rose Kennedy (Aherlow), Laura Dillon (Ardfinnan), Samantha Lambert (Ardfinnan, captain), Lauren Fitzpatrick (Ballymacarbry, Waterford), Orla O’Dwyer (Boherlahan), Caoimhe Condon (Brian Ború’s), Jennifer Grant (Brian Ború’s, vice-captain), Laura Morrissey (Brian Ború’s), Mairéad Morrissey (Brian Ború’s), Emma Buckley (Cahir), Aishling Moloney (Cahir), Aisling McCarthy (Cahir), Róisín Howard (Cahir), Rachel O’Donnell (Cahir), Shauna Quirke (Cappawhite), Sarah Ryan (Clonmel Commercials), Anna Carey (Clonmel Commercials), Courtney Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials), Lucy Spillane (Fethard), Kate Davey (Fethard), Sarah Everard (Moyle Rovers), Róisín McGrath (Moyle Rovers), Áine Fitzgerald (Moyle Rovers), Gillian O’Brien (Moyle Rovers), Niamh Lonergan (Moyle Rovers), Jenny Everard (Moyle Rovers), Muireann Lloyd (Moyne-Templetuohy), Róisín Daly (Moyne-Templetuohy), Lorraine O’Shea (Mullinahone), Aoibhe O’Shea (Mullinahone), Maria Curley (Templemore), Nicola Loughnane (Thurles Sarsfields) & Marie Creedon (Thurles Sarsfields).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.