Tipperary minor football panel named for Munster championship clash with Kerry

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell



Tipperary minor football panel named for Munster championship clash with Kerry

On Wednesday, April 11th the Tipperary minor football team will launch their Munster campaign against Kerry at Semple Stadium, Thurles (throw-in 7pm) - the winner of that contest will progress to the semi-finals on May 8th while the loser will face the loser of the Limerick-Clare match on April 18th.

And, the Tipperary minor football panel reads as follows: Callan Scully (Nenagh Éire Óg), Tommy McDonagh (Cahir), Shane Lowe (Moyne-Templetuohy), Christy McDonagh (Cahir), Mark O'Meara (Grangemockler-Ballyneale, captain), Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris), Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers), Billy Murphy (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane), Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris), Alan Flannery (Galtee Rovers), Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Christy English (Ballyporeen), Kyle Shelly (Moycarkey-Borris, vice-captain), Eddie Daly (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Cian O'Mahony (Ardfinnan), John O'Sullivan (Galtee Rovers), Conor Power (Ballina), Gavin Meagher (Inane Rovers), Conor Whelan (Mullinahone), Rhys Byron (Galtee Rovers), Jamie Holloway (Carrick Swan), Dylan Farrelly (Clerihan) and Seán O'Connor (Clonmel Commercials).

Additional panel members as follows: Killian Fitzgerald (Arravale Rovers), Donagh Hickey (Arravale Rovers), Kevin Moore (Inane Rovers), Kieran Costello (Durlas Óg), Joey Lyons (Grangemockler-Ballyneale), Paddy Creedon (Durlas Óg), Joe Dwan (Durlas Óg) and Jake Kiely (Cahir).

The Tipperary minor football management team are: manager Matt O’Doherty (Arravale Rovers), coach Benny Hickey (Cahir), selectors Viv Downey (Upperchurch-Drombane), James Boland (Inane Rovers) and Johnny Nevin (JK Bracken's). The strength and conditioning coaches involved are Jason Coffey (Ardfinnan) and Mark Butler (Loughmore-Castleiney).

Tipperary last won a Munster minor football championship match in 2015 when the Premier County progressed to the provincial final (lost to Kerry 1-11 to 2-14).

In 2017 Tipp lost to Cork (1-8 to 3-21) and Clare (0-5 to 0-10) while in 2016 the Premier County lost to Cork (1-11 to 1-14) and Limerick (0-11 to 3-8).

The minor grade, of course, is now populated by under-17 players and in the inaugural under-17 Munster championship in 2017 Tipperary beat Clare (0-14 to 0-10) before losing a provincial semi-final to Kerry (1-6 to 3-11).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.