Tipperary minor football team named to face Limerick in Munster championship play-off

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell



Tipperary minor football team named to face Limerick in Munster championship play-off

The Tipperary minor football team pictured during the national anthem before their meeting with Kerry at Semple Stadium, Thurles last week. Photo: Eamonn McGee

The Tipperary team has been named to face Limerick in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship play-off on Wednesday evening, April 18th in Newcastlewest at 6:.30pm by manager Matt O'Doherty.

And, the starting team shows one change with Gavin Meagher (Inane Rovers) coming in at centre-back while Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris) moves up front.

The Tipperary team will line out as follows:

1. Callan Scully (Nenagh Éire Óg)
2. Tommy McDonagh (Cahir)
3. Shane Lowe (Moyne-Templetuohy)
4. Christy McDonagh (Cahir)
5. Mark O'Meara (Grangemockler-Ballyneale, captain)
6. Gavin Meagher (Inane Rovers)
7. Johnny Ryan (Arravale Rovers)
8. Billy Murphy (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
9. Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane)
10. Max Hackett (Moycarkey-Borris)
11. Devon Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)
12. Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris)
13. Kyle Shelly (Moycarkey-Borris)
14. Christy English (Ballyporeen)
15. Eddie Daly (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)


16. Cian O'Mahony (Ardfinnan)
17. Kevin Moore (Inane Rovers)
18. Donagh Hickey (Arravale Rovers)
19. Alan Flannery (Galtee Rovers)
20. Conor Whelan (Mullinahone)
21. Rhys Byron (Galtee Rovers)
22. Jamie Holloway (Carrick Swan)
23. John O'Sullivan (Galtee Rovers)
24. Seán O’Connor (Clonmel Commercials)

In their opening game the Tipperary minor football team lost to Kerry (0-4 to 1-15) at Semple Stadium, Thurles on April 11th. Kerry now progress to the semi-finals on May 8th while Clare beat Limerick 3-13 to 2-9 in their respective first round game.

The Tipperary minor football management team are: manager Matt O’Doherty (Arravale Rovers), coach Benny Hickey (Cahir), selectors Viv Downey (Upperchurch-Drombane), James Boland (Inane Rovers) and Johnny Nevin (JK Bracken's). The strength and conditioning coaches involved are: Jason Coffey (Ardfinnan) and Mark Butler (Loughmore-Castleiney).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.