Tipperary U21 hurling team suffer a five-point defeat at the hands of Kilkenny

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell



Tipperary U21 hurling team suffer a five-point defeat at the hands of Kilkenny

Manager Liam Cahill is joined on the Tipperary under-21 hurling management team by John Sheedy, Seán Corbett, TJ Ryan and Michael Bevans.

Liam Cahill’s Tipperary under-21 hurling team suffered a five-point defeat (3-15 to 3-20) at the hands of DJ Carey’s Kilkenny in the annual Tom O’Hara Memorial Inter-County Tournament at Gortnahoe on Monday, May 7th - all proceeds from the challenge game go to the Gortnahoe-Glengoole GAA Club who are working hard to develop their facilities.

Kilkenny were quite impressive in this contest with centre-forward Conor Hennessy absolutely outstanding. Meanwhile for Tipperary Jake Morris caught the eye up front while corner-backs Killian O’Dwyer and Craig Morgan also shone out.

Jake Morris buried a Tipperary goal in the third minute, but DJ Carey’s men battled their way back into this contest before taking the lead thanks a Conor Hennessy goal in the 21st minute (1-6 to 1-8).

Jake Morris and Lyndon Fairbrother responded with equalising points, but Kilkenny led 1-10 to 1-8 at the interval, and deservingly so given the prevailing pattern of the contest.

Three Lyndon Fairbrother points (all frees) and a Jake Morris effort tied the game (1-12 apiece) by the 40th minute, but during the ensuing five minutes Kilkenny blasted 1-5 without reply to take complete control - an unfortunate mix-up in the Tipperary full-back line allowed James Bergin’s free to drop into the net in the 44th minute.

Trailing 1-12 to 2-17 in front of a bumper crowd Tipperary needed to respond and did so with a Rian Doody strike and 1-2 from Jake Morris to drag the home side to within three points by the 52nd minute (2-15 to 2-18).

Kilkenny, however, settled the issue in the 54th minute when Patrick Walsh buried his side’s third goal. And, the Cats led by eight points in injury time when Ger Browne squeezed home a 21-yard free.

The Tipperary under-21 squad are, of course, preparing to take on Limerick in a Munster semi-final which is scheduled to take place at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Thursday, June 21st (7.30pm) - the Shannonsiders beat Clare in the preliminary round on May 7th (3-18 to 0-13).

Liam Cahill (Ballingarry) leads the Tipperary management team alongside coach Michael Bevans (Toomevara) and selectors John Sheedy (Portroe), Seán Corbett (Boherlahan-Dualla) and TJ Ryan (Clonoulty-Rossmore).


Tipperary: Ciarán Barrett (Clonmel Óg), Craig Morgan (Kilruane MacDonagh’s), Pádraic Campion (Drom & Inch), Killian O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Paddy Cadell (JK Bracken’s), Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Paudie Feehan (Killenaule), Gavin Dunne (Holycross-Ballycahill), Ger Browne (Knockavilla Kickhams, 0-1), Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash, 1-1, 1-0 frees), Dillion Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Rian Doody (Cappawhite, 0-1), Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonagh’s, 0-1), Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg, 2-5), Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Bracken’s, 0-6, 0-4 frees). Subs: (HT) Conor Stakelum (Thurles Sarsfields) for Mark Kehoe, (36th) Robert Byrne (Portroe) for Pádraic Campion, (41st) Shane Fletcher (Roscrea) for Cian Darcy, (43rd) Darragh Peters (Kilruane MacDonagh’s) for Dillon Quirke, (46th) Cian Flanagan (Newport) for Gavin Dunne, (56th) Keane Hayes (Gortnahoe-Glengoole) for Lyndon Fairbrother, (60th) Fionn Cleary (Gortnahoe-Glengoole) for Killian O’Dwyer.

Referee: Paddy Ivors (Ballingarry).


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.