The Tipperary football team has been named to face Cork on Saturday night

Brian McDonnell


Brian McDonnell


The Tipperary football team has been named to face Cork on Saturday night

With your support Brian Fox and the Tipperary footballers can make a huge leap this Saturday.

Manager Liam Kearns has called on blue and gold supporters to come out in force as the Tipperary team prepare to take on Cork in a Munster Senior Football Championship semi-final at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Saturday, May 26th (throw-in 7pm).

The Tipperary team selected to face Cork in the semi-final reads as follows:

1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
2. Shane O'Connell (Golden-Kilfeacle)
3. John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney)
4. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
5. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers, captain)
7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
8. Liam Casey (Cahir)
9. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)
10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Kevin O'Halloran (Portroe)
12. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)
13. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers)
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

16. Ciarán Kenrick (Moyle Rovers)
17. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
18. Steven O'Brien (Ballina)
19. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
20. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
21. George Hannigan (Shannon Rovers)
22. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)
23. Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials)
24. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)
25. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers)
26. David McGrath (Moyle Rovers)

The preparations of the Tipperary team have been hampered significantly by a Munster Council decision to ask Tipperary to face the Rebels just seven days after the Premier County saw off the challenge of Waterford (0-20 to 0-9) on Saturday, May 19th.

But with a place in the provicinal final up for grabs on June 23rd the Tipperary camp are eager to focus all of their attention on Cork this week - in 2017 the blue and gold lost a Munster semi-final to the Rebels in Cork (1-10 to 1-9), but beat Cork in a 2016 semi-final (3-15 to 2-16).

And, this week manager Liam Kearns has called on supporters to help make next Saturday a memorable day for Tipperary football: “The odds are stacked against us and we could do with all the support we can get. I ask as many Tipperary supporters as possible to turn up for the match and make as much noise as you can. The players have put in a huge effort and your support could be vital in determining the result of the match; you could be the difference and give us that little extra edge that we need”.

Meanwhile the chairman of the Tipperary Football Committee Barry O’ Brien echoed the sentiments of the Kerry man: “This game is one of the most important that Tipperary football has played in a long time with the winners being not only assured of a Munster final place, but are also one step away from the Super 8s. We appeal to as many Tipperary GAA supporters as possible to come to Semple Stadium on Saturday evening - bring all the colour you can and make as much noise as possible. The players have put in a monumental effort, not just in 2018, but over the last decade or so, to improve our standing in Gaelic football and they truly deserve massive support”.

Just 1,658 supporters turned out to support the Tipperary footballers against Waterford last weekend. Hopefully the Tipperary players will get the support that they wholeheartedly deserve this Saturday.

Ticket Information - adult pre-purchase: €15, adult match day: €20, under-16s: free, students and seniors will receive a €5 concession on full price tickets with valid ID prior to entry at the designated stile. Tickets are available for purchase via and participating Centra and Supervalu Outlets.

The Cork team to face Tipperary on Saturday reads as follows:

1. Mark White
2. Kevin Crowley
3. Jamie O’Sullivan
4. Kevin Flahive
5. Seán White
6. Stephen Cronin
7. Tomás Clancy
8. Aidan Walsh
9. Ian Maguire
10. Kevin O’Driscoll
11. Mark Collins
12. Ruairí Deane
13. John O’Rourke
14. Colm O'Neill
15. Luke Connolly

16. Anthony Casey
17. Sam Ryan
18. James Loughrey
19. Matthew Taylor
20. Cian Kiely
21. Ronan O’Toole
22. Peter Kelleher
23. Cathal Vaughan
24. Michael Hurley
25. Stephen Sherlock
26. Brian Hurley
27. Paul Kerrigan


To keep up to date with all the sporting news in Tipperary please click here - to follow the Tipperary Star sports team on twitter please click here - to follow sports editor Brian McDonnell on Twitter please click here. Alternatively, you can also like the Tipperary Star on Facebook.